RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2015 - 9th: William Dunlop

You place William Dunlop ninth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
9th – William Dunlop
Average poll score out of ten: 5.8
Team: Tyco BMW/CD Racing
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Ulster Grand Prix wins: 0
Podiums: 1
Macau Grand Prix: N/A

William Dunlop atoned for a disappointing season at the international road race meetings by impressing at the Irish National events, with the 30-year-old from Ballymoney securing the Superbike and Supersport titles.

Dunlop's hopes at the 'big three' major road races were hindered by injury, with a crash in practice at the North West 200 leaving him battered and bruised.

For the second year running, Dunlop was involved in a huge accident at the Isle of Man TT, coming off the Tyco BMW Superstock machine on a practice lap on the fast entry towards Laurel Bank.

He suffered a broken rib in the incident and was ruled out of the remainder of the festival, but was extremely fortunate to escape more serious injury. It was a disappointing outcome for the Northern Ireland man, who was among the favourites in the Supersport class in particular, although Dunlop did complete the opening RST Superbike race prior to his crash, finishing a solid fifth on the S1000RR behind John McGuinness.

Back home in Ireland, Dunlop was enjoying better luck as he dominated the Supersport class on Chris Dowd's 600cc Yamaha at events such as the Cookstown 100, Tandragee 100, Skerries and Armoy National road races. He went through the season unbeaten on the R6 with nine championship wins and also clinched the Superbike crown on the Tyco BMW Superstock machine by six points from Dublin's Derek Sheils.

Traditionally a happy hunting ground for Dunlop, the Ulster Grand Prix offered the quiet Ulsterman the opportunity to bag an international win at the end of the campaign and Dunlop went agonisingly close in the opening Supersport race, losing out by only 0.039 seconds to Lee Johnston after a blistering race.

After two seasons with Philip Neill's TAS Racing outfit, Dunlop parted company from the team and has linked up with long-time backer Chris Dowd full-time for 2016, when he will ride a Yamaha YZF-R1 Superbike and his trusty R6, both prepared to the highest specification by former Yamaha WSBK engine guru Marcus Eschenbacher.

Dunlop has also joined forces with Nick Morgan' MSS Performance outfit to compete in the Superstock class on a Kawasaki ZX-10R.

Do you agree with the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
William Dunlop on the CD-IC Racing Yamaha R6.
Action from the 2016 North West 200
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop
Gary Johnson
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 17, 2015 10:55 AM

9th place....I cant see this being correct, the lad won more Road Races than anyone else on his way to pick up 2 Irish championships. Superbike and Supersport or maybe his wins don't count. Cant wait to see who wins this, Hutchy 3wins..Hickman 2 wins J McPint 2 wins. W Dunlop picked 9 race wins in S/Sport alone.....

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.