RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2015 - 6th: Guy Martin

You place Guy Martin sixth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
6th – Guy Martin
Average poll score out of ten: 6.2
Team: Tyco BMW
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 0
Podiums: 1
Ulster Grand Prix wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Macau Grand Prix: N/A

Fans' favourite Guy Martin had the most low-key season of his career in recent years after a barren run at the major international road races.

The TV celebrity, truck fitter and roads star made the headlines in May at the North West 200 after launching into a tirade slamming the 'boring' 8.9-mile course, which has more man-made chicanes than any other pure road race circuit.

Martin later apologised for his outburst, but his dislike of the course is common knowledge and it seems unlikely the Lincolnshire rider will return to the event in 2016.

The 34-year-old made his traditional appearance at the Cookstown 100 Irish National meeting at the beginning of the season in April and won both Superbike races on the Tyco BMW.

He failed to make much of an impact at the North West 200 weeks later and his maiden Isle of Man TT victory eluded him once again on the Mountain Course, where Martin finished on the rostrum once on the Smiths Triumph in the second Supersport event, taking third place.

After being ruled out with a technical problem at the start of the RST Superbike race, Martin finished fourth in the flagship Senior TT and joined the elite 132mph club with a lap of 132.398mph, making him the fourth fastest TT rider rider in history behind John McGuinness, Michael Dunlop and James Hillier.

His fortunes improved at the Southern 100 on the Billown course in July, which is one of Martin's favourite events along with the famous Ulster Grand Prix.

In front of a huge crowd, Martin made history by winning the Solo Championship race for the third time in succession, a feat only managed once before by Ulster legend Joey Dunlop.

He also notched a win at the Armoy Road Races in the opening Superbike event but had to settle for the runner-up spot behind Michael Dunlop in the headline 'Race of Legends'.

The world's fastest road race at Dundrod offered Martin the chance to add to his 11 Ulster Grand Prix victories, but his season came to an abrupt halt when he crashed out at 120mph while leading Bruce Anstey in the Dundrod 150 Superbike race.

Martin was forced to miss the Scarborough Gold Cup and Macau Grand Prix as a result of the injuries he sustained, which included five broken vertebrae.

Speculation has surrounded his plans for 2016, although Northern Ireland's Tyco BMW team recently confirmed that Martin would remain in the fold next season and said further details of his race schedule would be forthcoming.

It is thought that Martin could skip the TT next year to participate in a major mountain bike race, the Tour Divide, which clashes with the legendary road racing festival.

He claimed in his new book, 'When You Dead, You Dead,' that he doesn't plan to return to the North West 200, but it seems Martin is keen to continue racing at his favourite events, such as the Cookstown 100, Southern 100, Armoy, Ulster Grand Prix and Scarborough Gold Cup.

Do you agree with the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tyco BMW`s Guy Martin
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Derek Sheils in action at the Walderstown road races.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Derek Sheils on the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki at the Skerries 100.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.