RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2015 - 2nd: John McGuinness

You place John McGuinness second in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
2nd – John McGuinness
Average poll score out of ten: 8.2
Team: Honda Racing/Jackson Racing/Mugen
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 2
Podiums: 0
Ulster Grand Prix wins: N/A
Podiums: N/A
Macau Grand Prix: 4th

John McGuinness's record-breaking victory in a pulsating Senior race at the Isle of Man TT in June provided one of the most memorable moments of the 2015 season.

The Morecambe Missile reclaimed the coveted Senior crown in sensational style on the Honda Racing Fireblade, setting a new outright lap record for the 37.73-mile Mountain Course at 132.702mph after the race was restarted over four laps following a serious accident involving Ulsterman Jamie Hamilton.

It was one of McGuinness's greatest performances at the TT as the 43-year-old proved in no uncertain terms that he is still the 'King of the Mountain'.

He also set the fastest ever lap from a standing start with a blistering opening speed of 131.850mph as he went on to clinch a dominant victory in the blue riband race for the seventh time, which puts him level with the legendary Mike 'The Bike' Hailwood for the most Senior TT wins in history.

McGuinness also won the TT Zero race for Mugen to extend his winning record to 23 victories, leaving him now only three wins behind Northern Ireland's Joey Dunlop, who remains the most successful TT rider ever with 26 triumphs.

At the North West 200 in May, McGuinness finished sixth in the Superbike race and 10th and seventh in the Supersport races respectively.

He didn't compete at the Ulster Grand Prix, but the English star produced one of his best rides in recent years at the Macau Grand Prix to finish fourth, pulling off an audacious pass around the outside of Gary Johnson on the final lap of the race.

McGuinness has re-signed with Honda Racing once more to compete in the Superbike class at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT in 2016, with Manx rider Conor Cummins remaining as his team-mate.

He will also ride a CBR600RR Supersport machine for Jackson Racing and contest the Superstock class in the Endurance World Championship with the team.

Do you agree with the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 23, 2015 7:07 AM

McGuinnes is still the man. Somehow this year he seemed to reinvent himself. New laprecord at TT was pretty spetacular when you think the competition and mind the fact even in superbike trim that Fireblade is eaten in the straights. He was way more aggressive than before and seemed like he was racing on short sircuits, both at the TT and Macau. Hopefully Honda can bring new bike 2017 and we can see John get couple more wins and push that laprecord even higher.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.