RR »

Johnston and Harrison fired up for TT Zero bid with Saroléa

Road racing stars Lee Johnston and Dean Harrison form a formidable line-up for Belgian team Saroléa Racing in the TT Zero Race in 2016.
Top Isle of Man TT contender Lee Johnston says he is fired up to challenge for another rostrum in the TT Zero Race after joining Belgian team Saroléa Racing.

The Northern Ireland rider, who finished third last year on the American Victory machine, is joined in the team by Bradford's Dean Harrison, who will make his debut in the clean emissions race.

Johnston, one of the rising stars at the TT, said: “I'm buzzing to be on-board with Saroléa. I raced last year for a different team and podiumed third, this year the plan is to podium again but faster.”

The pair will compete on Saroléa's SP7 machine as the European team contests the TT Zero race for the third consecutive season.

Harrison, preparing to return to the Island for the legendary meeting for the sixth time in his career, added: “It's my first time racing the TT Zero and I cannot wait. I've been following the team since they raced for the first time in 2014 and I'm itching to get on the bike.

“The technology is off the scale and this year is going to be flat out.”

Saroléa Racing competed in the TT Zero Race for the first time in 2014 with Robert Wilson taking the exquisite, brand new all-carbon SP7 to an amazing fourth, just 0.4 seconds off the podium after lapping at an average speed of 93.507mph.

Last year, the team made significant technical advancements and finished fifth with an average speed of 106.510 mph, a superb improvement of 13mph.

With TT Zero lap speeds and technological advancements evolving at an unprecedented rate, the 2016 race is set to be one of the most exhilarating showdowns in electric bike racing history.

Torsten Robbens, Saroléa Racing, said: “Having multiple bikes on the 2016 TT grid in combination with two of the best road racers in the world is another huge step forward in the Saroléa journey.”

The TT Zero Race is scheduled for Wednesday, June 8 with qualifying laps on Friday 3 and Monday, June 6.

Tagged as: Road Race , Isle of Man TT

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lee Johnston will ride for Sarolea Racing in the TT Zero race.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.