RR »

TT 2016: Start numbers throw up big surprises

2016 Isle of Man TT start numbers confirmed with Kiwi Bruce Anstey switching to number two as John McGuinness retains number one plate.
This year's official start numbers for the RST Superbike and PokerStars Senior races at the Isle of Man TT have caused a surprise with a number of major changes compared to recent seasons.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey will set off at number two on Clive Padgett's Honda in a change from his traditional number five, which he has used every year since 2004 with the exception of 2010 (No.1).

Outright lap record holder John McGuiness retains the number one plate and leads the field away on the official Honda Racing Superbike, while James Hillier moves to number three on the Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki.

Bingley Bullet Ian Hutchinson climbs the order to number four on the Tyco BMW, the same number he used in 2010 when he became the only rider ever to win all five major solo races at the TT.

Ten seconds behind Hutchy is another of last year's revelations and a potential race winner in the shape of Peter Hickman. The eighth fastest rider of all time will line up on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki and has the ideal target in front of him in Hutchinson although he could well be occupied with the rider starting behind him – Michael Dunlop.

After a problematical 2015 TT campaign, Dunlop on the Buildbase Hawk Racing BMW is back at the start number that saw him claim a hat-trick of 1000cc wins in both 2013 and 2014 and he will be hoping that it proves to be a lucky six.

Previous two-time Supersport TT winner Gary Johnson will again have the number seven plate, this time on the Penz13.com BMW, and will be followed down Glencrutchery Road by William Dunlop on the CD Racing Yamaha R1 and the evergreen Michael Rutter (Bathams/SMT Racing BMW). As in previous years, Manxman Conor Cummins completes the top ten on the second Honda Racing machine.

There's exciting news at number 11 with Aussie Cameron Donald moving back up the grid from last year's start place of 19. Donald finished second in the Superbike race for three successive years between 2011-2013 and the Adelaide-based rider will again look to be back up at the front of the field on his return to Ulster team Wilson Craig Racing.

Silicone Engineering is a new team among the seeded outfits in the number 12 spot but it's familiar territory for rider Dean Harrison, who starts one position ahead of Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston on the East Coast Construction BMW.

Manxman Dan Kneen on the Mar-Train Racing Yamaha starts ten seconds later with Australian ace David Johnson completing the top 15 on the factory Norton. Going off at 16 will be Ryan Farquhar, who rides the second Tyco BMW.

Dan Stewart (Wilcock Consulting Honda), Martin Jessopp (Riders Motorcycles BMW), Steve Mercer (Jackson Racing Honda) and last year's Bennetts Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin, who's amongst the Superbike seeds for the first time on the Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki, complete the top 20.

There's no shortage of talent outside the top 20 with the likes of Alan Bonner, Dan Cooper, Sam West, Daniel Hegarty and Ryan Kneen all back for another effort as is the veteran Ian Lougher on the intriguing Suter 580cc two-stroke.

With the top 20 seeded riders all having lapped comfortably over 127mph, it's the fastest top end field ever assembled.

Eight newcomers will get their first race action around the Mountain Course in the 1000cc races – Italian Alessandro Polita, British Supersport rider Ben Wilson, British Superstock regulars Victor Cox and Michael Booth, Irish Championship frontrunner Seamus Elliott, Jochem van den Hoek (Holland), Andre Pires (Portugal), and Cornwall's Forest Dunn.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2015 Isle of Man TT Races.
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


March 30, 2016 2:45 PM

I'm sure many will disagree but I'm still a bit sad that Guy Martin won't be racing this year. As a spectator win or lose, he was exciting to watch and you won't find a rider the crowd loves more.


March 30, 2016 6:42 PM

I'm pretty sure Guy will have a sudden realization that he made a mistake when he sits down to watch it on the tele. Also: Ben Wilson doing the TT worries me a little. In the same why that Simon Andrews and Karl Harris worried me when they started road racing.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.