RR »

TT 2016: Dunlop in 131mph blast to top Superbike summit

Eleven-time Isle of Man TT winner Michael Dunlop has set the first 131mph lap of practice week to head the Superbike charts on the Hawk Racing BMW.
Isle of Man TT titan Michael Dunlop made up for lost time as the Northern Ireland rider scaled the Superbike summit during Wednesday practice with a searing lap of 131.574mph.

Dunlop had missed Superbike practice on Tuesday evening after his Hawk Racing BMW developed a problem on his first lap.

However, the 27-year-old made amends on the S1000RR to shoot to the top of the times on Wednesday evening to snatch the top spot away from Tyco BMW's Ian Hutchinson, who lapped at 130.691mph.

Yorkshireman Hutchinson actually lapped faster on his Superstock machine with a blistering speed of 130.745mph as the 11-time winner continues to show impressive form this week.

Behind Dunlop and Hutchinson, Mountain king John McGuinness produced his first 130mph lap of TT 2016 on the Honda Racing Fireblade, clocking a speed of 130.497mph as he finished ahead of team-mate Conor Cummins (129.764mph).

Dean Harrison, who is back on Kawasaki machinery this year after riding for Ulster's Mar-Train Yamaha team in 2015, slotted into fifth on the Superbike time sheets at 129.742mph, followed by Michael Rutter on the Bathams SMT BMW (129.163mph).

Flying Kiwi Bruce Anstey was solid again on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda RC213V-S, posting two laps and setting his quickest time from a standing start of 128.833mph.

Two nights of practice remain ahead of Saturday's six-lap RST Superbike race, which was won last year by Anstey, who was celebrating his first victory in the class.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.