RR »

TT 2016: Dunlop means business with 132mph lap

Michael Dunlop sets blazing 132mph Superbike lap and unofficially shatters Superstock lap record on terrific Thursday, Anstey unhurt after Keppel Gate spill.
Michael Dunlop was a man on a mission as the 11-time Isle of Man TT winner topped the Superbike charts with an electric 132mph lap on the Hawk Racing BMW on Thursday.

The 27-year-old set the first 131mph lap of practice week on Wednesday but set the bar higher yet again, going clear on the time sheets with a red-hot speed of 132.365mph (17m 06.164s) on his final lap as the session was flagged off, more than five seconds quicker than Tyco BMW's Ian Hutchinson.

Dunlop made it a Thursday double as he unofficially smashed his 2013 Superstock lap record with a speed of 131.336mph (17m 14.206s) on his MD Racing BMW.

He opted to go out first on his Superstock machine and after a steady opening lap of 125mph, Dunlop produced something special to break into the 131mph bracket on his 'stocker.

Hutchinson went straight out on his Superbike and incredibly lapped at 131.661mph from a standing start to throw down his claim for Superbike honours in Saturday's opening race.

The Bingley Bullet was slightly slower on his flying lap at 131.111mph, while Honda Racing's John McGuinness broke into the 131mph bracket with a lap of 131.116mph.

The Morecambe rider was followed by team-mate Conor Cummins (129.986mph) while Dean Harrison was right in the mix again on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki, lapping at 129.9678mph from a standing start on the ZX-10R.

James Hillier – who finished on the rostrum in the Superbike and Senior races last year – rounded out the top six in Thursday's times with a speed of 128.55mph on the Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki.

He was tailed by Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston on the East Coast/Burdens BMW (128.342mph) and Michael Rutter (Bathams SMT BMW), who lapped at 128.340mph.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey came off at Keppel Gate after a couple of laps on the Honda RC213V-S, but was reported to be up and walking.

It was a pivotal night for Norton as Australian rider David Johnson set the fastest ever speed on the SG5 machine with an impressive 128.323mph lap from a standing start.

William Dunlop also impressed on his new Yamaha R1, clocking 128mph flat after only riding the bike for the first time on Monday.

In the Supersport class, Lee Johnston led the way on the East Coast Triumph at 124.838mph from Hutchinson on Keith Flint's Came BPT Yamaha (124.223mph) and McGuinness (Jackson Honda), who managed 123.478mph.

Manxman Cummins was next on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda (123.371mph) ahead of William Dunlop on the IC Racing Caffrey Yamaha (123.134mph). Michael Dunlop was sixth quickest on his MD Racing Yamaha (122.176mph).

In the Lightweight class, Michael Rutter grabbed the fastest time on Ryan Farquhar's SGS KMR Kawasaki with a hot lap of 118.054mph to lead Italy's Stefano Bonetti (Paton S1), who clocked 116.220mph and Danny Webb, also riding an SGS KMR Kawasaki (116.140mph).

Last year's winner Ivan Lintin was fourth fastest on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki at 115.909mph.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.