RR »

TT 2016: Hutchy seals third Supersport win in row

'All the records have been going except for the 600s but I've been miles away and we've been scratching our heads, but I've enjoyed to today and it's fantastic' - Ian Hutchinson.
UPDATE: Michael Dunlop has been excluded from the results of Monday's Monster Energy Supersport Race for a technical infringement. Dean Harrison moves to second place with James Hillier promoted to third.

Ian Hutchinson made it three Supersport TT wins on the trot with a commanding victory on the Team Traction Control Yamaha on Monday.

It was the 36-year-old's 12th success around the Mountain Course as Hutchy, a double Monster Energy Supersport race winner last year, took the win by 14.3 seconds from Michael Dunlop (Street Sweep Yamaha) as he set a new race record for the four-lap event by 15.2 seconds.

Bradford's Dean Harrison claimed a fantastic podium in third place on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki with James Hillier (Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki) and Manx rider Conor Cummins, riding the Valvoline Padgetts Honda, rounding out the first six.

A delighted Hutchinson said: “I think I have a little connection with this bike and I got away and knew I could push real hard in the first two sectors.

“I did that and for the rest of the race it was pretty smooth other than the last part, when there was more backmarkers than I've ever seen in my life.

“All the records have been going this week except for the 600s but I've been miles away and we've been scratching our heads, but I've enjoyed to today and it's fantastic.”

Runner-up Dunlop, who rode his Yamaha for the first time at the North West 200 in May, said a lack of track time with the bike had cost him.

“We struggled and that's the long and the short of it,” said the 27-year-old.

“It was the first real good run we got on the 600 to get some feedback, but we've got that now and we can make a few changes.

“Thanks to Gary Ryan at Street Sweep because he's worked real hard to put the bike together and we've got a good package and it's something we can work on for Wednesday's race.”

Bingley Bullet Hutchinson shot into the lead on Keith Flint's R6 to head Harrison by three seconds at Glen Helen, with Ulsterman Dunlop in third, only a tenth of a second behind.

At Ballaugh, Hutchy's lead had increased to five seconds over Dunlop, who had now nudged ahead of Harrison. Michael Rutter was a retirement on the Bathams SMT Kawasaki at Ballacraine, while Peter Hickman lost time as he stopped to make adjustments on his Trooper Beer Kawasaki.

Hutchinson was blazing a trail out front and by the end of the first lap, he had now established an advantage of ten seconds over Dunlop, completing his first lap at 127.872mph from a standing start.

Dunlop was 2.2 seconds in front of Harrison, who had seven seconds in hand over Hillier.

Jackson Racing Honda's John McGuinness, who led the field away, was in fifth position, narrowly ahead of Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston (East Coast/Burdens Triumph).

Hutchinson was beginning to assert his authority in the race on lap two and extended his lead to 11 seconds over Dunlop at Ramsey Hairpin as he took the lead on the roads from McGuinness

The 36-year-old set the fastest lap of the race at 128.26mph – just outside Dunlop's lap record for the class.

Harrison held station in third from Cummins, who had squeezed in front of Hillier by half-a-second, with McGuinness circulating in sixth.

Following the pit stops, Hutchinson's advantage was almost 12 seconds over Dunlop at Glen Helen and although the Ulster rider clawed back a second here and there over the course of the final two laps, Hutchy was able to respond as he maintained his lead on the R6, closing out his 12th win by 14.3 seconds with a final lap of 127.811mph.

Fermanagh's Lee Johnston finished in seventh ahead of William Dunlop (IC Racing Yamaha), with Steve Mercer on the Jackson Honda and Gary Johnson – who had a disastrous pit stop – regrouping to score a top ten result on the T3 Triumph.

Bruce Anstey was among the retirements, stopping at Ballacraine.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Hutchinson on the Team Traction Control Yamaha at the Isle of Man TT.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Action from the 2016 North West 200
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.