RR »

Dunlops dominate at Skerries 100

Michael and William Dunlop won the Superbike and Supersport races respectively at the Skerries 100 Irish road races near Dublin.
Michael and William Dunlop were in top form at the 70th Anniversary AXA Bikecare Skerries 100 meeting in north Dublin, which was hampered by heavy rain.

The feature Superbike race was called off late in the afternoon after the riders decided it was unsafe to compete due to the deteriorating conditions.

In drier conditions earlier in the day, Isle of Man TT star Michael Dunlop set a new outright lap record at Skerries of 110.871mph as he reeled in and passed home favourite Derek Sheils to win the Open Superbike race.

Dunlop came through to pip long-time leader Sheils for victory by 0.5 seconds, with older brother William taking third on the MMB Yamaha R1.

In the Supersport 600 race, William Dunlop again proved unbeatable at the National meetings on the IC Racing Yamaha R6 as he blasted into an early lead from pole.

The Ballymoney rider, who was victorious in the class at Tandragee and sealed a 600cc double at Cookstown earlier this season, had enough in hand to fend off a determined challenge from McGee by three-tenths-of-a-second as Michael Dunlop finished third on his MD Racing Yamaha ahead of Sheils.

Walderstown in Athlone hosts the next Irish road race this weekend with the 'Race of the South' feature event taking top billing. Confirmed entries include William Dunlop, Derek Sheils and Derek McGee.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW at the North West 200.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Fireblade SP2
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.