RR »

Appointment of new TT promoter put on hold

'We are still looking to work with Vision Nine and hope to conclude the appointment at the earliest opportunity' - Laurence Skelly.
Next year's Isle of Man TT races will again be promoted by the Manx government after the appointment of London-based promoter Vision Nine was put on hold until 2018.

Vision Nine had been due to take over the running of the TT and Classic TT events in 2017 after receiving government approval in April.

However, issues raised by other government departments and finalisation of the terms of the agreement with Vision Nine, which is taking longer than expected, have resulted in the delay.

Economic Development Minister Laurence Skelly wants Vision Nine to take over at the 'earliest opportunity'.

“We are still looking to work with Vision Nine and hope to conclude the appointment at the earliest opportunity."

Vision Nine's Julian Topham said the company remained committed to taking over the reins in 2018.

“We are committed to working with the government to create an operating structure tailored to the needs of the TT and Classic TT. We are looking forward to taking over as promoter of the 2018 events.”

The legendary road race on the Isle of Man has been promoted by the Manx government since it was first held in 1907.

Tagged as: Road Race , Isle of Man TT

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2015 Isle of Man TT Races.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.