RR »

Ulster GP: Anstey sets Supersport benchmark

Bruce Anstey will start the Supersport races at the MCE Ulster Grand Prix from pole after edging out Ian Hutchinson at Dundrod.
Flying Kiwi Bruce Anstey had the upper hand during final Supersport practice for the MCE Ulster Grand Prix at Dundrod.

Anstey claimed pole by 1.7 seconds on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda from Ian Hutchinson, who is back on the Came BPT Yamaha on which he has won the last four Supersport races at the Isle of Man TT.

Anstey topped the charts with a lap of 125.944mph with Hutchinson managing 124.901mph until the session was halted following an incident at Flow Bog as spots of rain began to fall. The rider involved escaped serious injury.

Conor Cummins finished third quickest on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda at 124.530mph with Bradford's Dean Harrison fourth on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki. William Dunlop on the IC Racing Yamaha and Peter Hickman (Trooper Beer Kawasaki) completed the top six.

Michael Dunlop, who topped the Superbike and Superstock sessions, qualified seventh on his MD Racing Yamaha followed by Dan Kneen on the Mar-Train Yamaha. Paul Jordan and Dan Cooper were the top ten.

Gary Johnson's lap of 121.701mph would have been good enough for ninth place on the grid, but the Lincolnshire rider only managed three laps in all on the East Coast/Burdens Triumph and is listed as a non-qualifier.

Johnson missed Wednesday's practice after being drafted into Phil Reed's team as a late replacement for Lee Johnston, who has been ruled out with a broken collarbone after a crash during practice on Wednesday.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda Supersport machine at the Isle of Man TT
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.