RR »

Ulster GP: Hutchinson edges Dunlop for Superstock win

Tyco BMW's Ian Hutchinson got the better of Michael Dunlop in a thrilling Superstock race at the MCE Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson completed a clean sweep of Superstock victories at the big three international road races in 2016 with a close fought win over Michael Dunlop at the MCE Ulster Grand Prix.

The fierce rivals went head to head in a thrilling six-lap race at Dundrod, with Dunlop leading for most of the way on his MD Racing BMW as Hutchinson appeared content to sit on his rear wheel.

The Bingley Bullet had to fight his way through from 15th place on the grid after qualifying was held in damp conditions on Thursday, but Hutchinson was into the lead by the end of lap one from Derek Sheils and Peter Hickman.

GBmoto Kawasaki's Hickman had opened a gap of 2.5 seconds on the first lap but began to lose ground and eventually retired at the end of lap two with a rear tyre puncture.

Dunlop had grabbed the lead at the start of lap three with Hutchinson giving chase, while Manx rider Dan Kneen was going strongly in third on the Mar-Train Yamaha.

The top three began to pull away from Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki, who was in a battle for fourth with Dublin rider Sheils (Shirlaw Kawasaki) and Conor Cummins on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda.

There was little to choose between Dunlop and Hutchinson on the final laps as they broke clear of Kneen, setting up a dramatic final lap.

Dunlop still led at the Deer's Leap but Hutchinson - who lapped at 132.292mph - had forced his nose to the front at Jordan's Cross and the Yorkshire rider held on to win by 0.261 seconds at the finish.

Harrison claimed fourth ahead of Cummins, with Gary Johnson an excellent sixth on the East Coast/Burdens BMW. Sheils and Steve Mercer (Devitt RC Express Kawasaki) were the top eight.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Hutchinson leads Dan Kneen in the Superstock race at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.