RR »

Ulster GP: Anstey wins shortened Supersport race

Flying Kiwi Bruce Anstey claimed his 12th win at the MCE Ulster Grand Prix in the opening Supersport race, which was red-flagged due to an incident on lap four.
Bruce Anstey sealed his 12th Ulster Grand Prix win in the shortened opening Supersport race at Dundrod, which was red-flagged on lap four.

Olie Linsdell came off at Joey's, causing the stoppage, but was later reported to have no serious injuries.

With four of the six laps completed, the race was declared a result, giving Flying Kiwi Anstey the win on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda over Ian Hutchinson (Came BPT Yamaha).

The podium was completed by Manx rider Conor Cummins, who narrowly claimed third on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda ahead of Dean Harrison (Silicone Engineering Kawasaki).

After a slight delay with light rain beginning to fall around the course, pole man Anstey took the race by the scruff of the neck and made his experience count in the patchy conditions to quickly open a gap of two seconds over Hutchinson.

However, as the race progressed, the roads rapidly began to dry out and Hutchinson was on the charge, visibly reducing Anstey's lead.

On lap four, the gap was down to 0.8 seconds but Yorkshire rider Hutchy was left to reflect on what might have been when the red flags went out. Dan Kneen finished fifth (Mar-Train Yamaha) ahead of William Dunlop on the IC Racing Yamaha.

Peter Hickman (Trooper Beer Kawasaki) and southern Irish rider Derek McGee (Yamaha) were the top eight. Michael Dunlop was a retirement on his MD Racing Yamaha.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda Supersport machine at the Isle of Man TT
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.