RR »

Classic TT: McGuinness gunning for elusive victory

John McGuinness will be hoping to put his poor run of luck at the Classic TT behind him as the Morecambe man again lines up on Roger Winfield's Paton for the Bennetts Senior race.
A stellar line-up has been secured for the Bennetts Senior race at the Classic TT, which lifts the curtain on the 2016 festival on Saturday, August 27.

Isle of Man TT great John McGuinness returns on Roger Winfield's 500 Paton, who has been out of luck over the past three years after a series of setbacks. McGuinness lapped at more than 112mph in practice in 2014 and barring any problems with the exotic Italian machine will be a major contender for the top step. The Morecambe man will lead the field away at number 1.

With Ulsterman Ryan Farquhar continuing to recover from the injuries he sustained at this year's North West 200, McGuinness has a new team-mate in the race with his regular Honda Racing partner Conor Cummins (10) lining up on the second Winfield Paton.

Dean Harrison took the victory 12 months ago on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta and the Bradford rider, again starting at number 12, will be putting everything into retaining his title. Laps in excess of 110mph showed what the combination is capable of and with a great season under his belt, Harrison will want to make sure his Italian machine is first past the chequered flag.

It's intended that he will be joined in the squad by Lee Johnston again, although the Irish rider sustained a broken collarbone at the Ulster Grand Prix which has put his appearance in jeopardy.

Ian Lougher will also support the MV challenge. The Welshman, who won the race in 2014 on the Giovanni Cabassi/Flitwick Motorcycles Paton, sets off at number five on the John Chapman Racing machine.

Regular competitors Team Molnar are missing from the entry list which means that Michael Dunlop (3) is still searching for a ride, but the top 20 is still packed with potential race winners including the Davies Motorsport duo of William Dunlop (6) and long-time Classic race exponent Alan Oversby (8), who continue on Honda machinery for the fourth successive year.

Michael Rutter (4) set the fastest ever Mountain Course lap on a British single cylinder machine in 2014 at 109.102mph before retiring when leading but the Ripley Land Racing Matchless should be in the mix as will Cameron Donald. The Australian had a TT to forget so will be keen to make amends at the Classic TT, this time riding the Motogallur Vincent.

Olie Linsdell, the inaugural winner in 2013 and current lap record holder, returns at number 2 on the Flitwick Motorcycles 500cc Royal Enfield with Jamie Coward (9) completing the top ten on the Ted Woof Norton.

Double Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin goes at number 11 on the Brian Richards Racing 4-valve Matchless with James Hillier (CSC Racing Honda), Danny Webb (Dunnell Racing Norton), Nick Jefferies (Goathland Garage Norton), James Cowton (Dave Kenah Racing Norton) and Peter Boast (D&M Honda) also among the top 20 runners.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT
Gary Johnson will run his own team at TT 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.