RR »

Classic TT: Dunlop edges Rutter in Junior race

Michael Dunlop reels in Michael Rutter after final lap charge to win the Okells Junior race at the Classic TT on the Black Eagle MV Agusta.
Michael Dunlop clinched his maiden victory in the Okells Junior race at the Classic TT following an exciting battle with Michael Rutter.

The Ballymoney man battled throughout with Rutter and although he had to pit for fuel on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta, he clawed back a deficit of 35 seconds to Rutter, who was able to complete the four-lap distance on the Ripley Land Racing Honda without stopping.

Dunlop caught Rutter again on the road on the final lap and went on to win by 10 seconds, with third place going to Alan Oversby on the Davies Motorsport Honda.

Ulsterman Dunlop, fastest in practice for the class, had already opened a lead of seven seconds on lap one at Glen Helen over Rutter, with Jamie Coward in third. William Dunlop, one of the pre-race favourites, was an early retirement on the Davies Motorsport Honda while Dean Harrison was also in trouble on the Black Eagle MV Agusta, eventually retiring at the end of lap one.

At the end of the first lap, Dunlop's advantage was now 10 seconds over Rutter following an opening speed of 103.775mph with Rutter close behind on the road. Coward was still third ahead of Oversby, with Cameron Donald next.

Rutter managed a quicker second lap than Dunlop at 103.974mph to cut his lead to seven seconds and he forged ahead at the end of the lap, going straight through as Dunlop came in for fuel.

With Rutter clear by 35 seconds, Dunlop put his head down and began to hunt down the new race leader, slashing the gap to 13.5 seconds as he began the fourth and final lap.

The 13-time Isle of Man TT winner set the fastest lap of the race at 104.475mph on the final lap as he relentlessly pursued Rutter, taking the lead at Ballaugh and closing in on the rear wheel of the Honda by the time they reached Ramsey Hairpin.

Dunlop went on to seal victory as he flashed across the line side by side with Rutter, with Oversby taking third after Coward retired at Kerrowmoar. The top six was completed by Cameron Donald, Dan Cooper and Danny Webb.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.