RR »

Classic TT: Dunlop dominates Superbike race

Northern Ireland's Michael Dunlop completes a Bank Holiday double with victory in the Motorsport Merchandise Classic Superbike race on the Isle of Man, setting a new lap record of 126.808mph.
UPDATE: Dean Harrison, James Hillier, Jamie Coward and Horst Saiger have been excluded from the results due to 'technical infringements'. The quartet had finished second, third, fifth and sixth respectively on their Kawasaki machines. Michael Rutter moves to second place in the revised results, with William Dunlop promoted to third. Conor Cummins, Gary Johnson and Danny Webb are the top six.

Michael Dunlop wrapped up a sensational double as he powered to his fourth career Classic TT triumph in the feature Motorsport Merchandise Classic Superbike race on Monday.

Dunlop, who had set the pace in practice on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69, established a new lap record on lap two of 126.808mph, bettering Bruce Anstey's 126mph mark from 2015. He also shattered his old race record by almost 40 seconds.

The Ballymoney rider led all the way to win from Dean Harrison (Silicone Engineering Kawasaki) by 19.2 seconds, with James Hillier on the Greenall Kawasaki ZXR750 completing the top three.

By Ramsey on lap one, Dunlop's advantage was six seconds over Harrison, with Hillier a further two seconds back in third and Dan Kneen holding fourth, only 2.5 seconds behind Hillier.

Dunlop's opening lap of 125.872mph saw him increase his lead to 7.3 seconds, while Harrison posted a lap in 125.026mph to become the fastest ever rider on a 750cc machine around the Mountain Course, taking over the mantle from Jim Moodie, who held the previous record from 1999, when he lapped at 124.45mph on a Honda RC45.

Manx rider Kneen retired from fourth place at Glen Darragh on lap two, promoting Ivan Lintin into fourth on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki. Steve Mercer was also an early retirement on the Mistral Kawasaki on lap one at Sulby.

Dunlop extended his cushion to 18.3 seconds on the second lap, but Harrison slashed the deficit after opting not to fit a new rear tyre during the pit stop, with Dunlop's stop taking longer as his crew fitted some fresh rubber on the rear of the big Suzuki.

At Glen Helen on lap three, his lead was now only two seconds over Harrison, with Hillier still third and Michael Rutter now improving to fourth on Roger Winfield's Harris Yamaha.

However, Dunlop soon put the hammer down and at Ramsey he had some breathing space with a lead of eight seconds, which he had increased to 13.1 seconds at the end of the lap.

The 27-year-old pulled further clear on the fourth and last lap, with 16 seconds the difference at Glen Helen over Bradford rider Harrison, while Hillier was safe in third, 16 seconds further in arrears. Rutter and Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Yamaha YZR500 were the top five.

Dunlop maintained a strong pace over the final lap, ending with a speed of 125.348mph to seal his second victory of the day after his earlier win in the Okells Junior race on the Black Eagle MV Agusta.

Harrison consolidated second position ahead of Hillier, while Rutter held onto fourth ahead of Jamie Coward and Austrian Horst Saiger, who completed the top six. Kiwi Anstey suffered misfortune after stopping at Glentramman on his final lap on the Yamaha GP machine, while Ivan Lintin retired at Signpost Corner.

William Dunlop (Kawasaki ZXR750), Conor Cummins on the Padgetts Yamaha OW01 and Danny Webb (Team Classic Suzuki XR69) finalised the top ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Mugen machine at TT 2016.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda FIreblade.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
Bruce Anstey on the Honda RC213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Bruce Anstey is set to ride a Honda RC213V-S at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix
Glenn Irwin and Christian Elkin with Ulster GP Clerk of the Course, Noel Johnston, and Supertwins race sponsors Maxwell Freight
Steve Plater with Bruce Charman of Prime Factors
Supebike TT winner Bruce Anstey with James Hilier and Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda Superbike at the Isle of Man TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.