RR »

Hickman set to defend Macau Grand Prix title

Peter Hickman will bid for back-to-back wins at the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix in November against a star-studded line-up at the Golden Jubilee meeting of the famous event.
British Superbike star Peter Hickman will return to the Golden Jubilee Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix next month to defend the title he won in sensational style in the Far East last year.

Hickman clinched the spoils at only his second attempt in 2015 as he reeled in fellow Briton Martin Jessopp on the Briggs Equipment BMW to scale the top step at the Guia street circuit.

The 29-year-old returns this year on the Bathams/SMT BMW for the milestone 50th anniversary of the famous race in the Far East, when he will face an array of formidable opponents.

Record eight-time winner Michael Rutter and four-time victor Stuart Easton will also ride BMW machinery for the Bathams/SMT Racing team.

The undisputed king of Macau, Rutter remains a major contender 19 years on from his maiden podium at the event and was in the mix as usual last year with an excellent ride to third place. The Midlands rider has been in brilliant form this season in the British Superstock 1000 Championship and will fancy his prospects of a ninth victory.

Scotsman Easton made his Macau return last year amidst much hype but struggled on the Yamaha R1. The diminutive Hawick man will be eager to set the record straight in November on the BMW S1000RR and has shown what he is capable of in the past.

Yorkshire's Ian Hutchinson is fresh from a dominant four-timer at the Ulster Grand Prix, where he established a new outright lap record in excess of 134mph. The Tyco BMW rider won at Macau for the first time in 2013 and Hutchy is another who sits prominently on the shortlist of potential winners.

Macau regular John McGuinness returns with the Honda Racing team and the Morecambe man narrowly missed out on a rostrum finish last year behind Rutter after a late charge saw him secure a solid fourth place. McGuinness is joined on the CBR1000RR Fireblade machines by Manx rider Conor Cummins.

Runner-up Jessopp must have felt he was on course for his maiden Macau GP success last year only to be caught and passed by Hickman and the Yeovil rider, who has now finished in second place three times, will be eager to go one step further on the Riders Motorcycles BMW.

A quality field also includes Gary Johnson on the Penz13.com BMW who partners newcomer Danny Webb, plus Manx rider Dan Kneen on the Mar-Train Racing Yamaha.

However, British Superbike prospect Glenn Irwin is the most high-profile name set to make his bow at Macau this year, with the Ulster rider leading the charge for Paul Bird's Be Wiser Ducati team on the Panigale R.

Ireland's Derek Sheils will also make the long trip to ride the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki for John Burrows' team, while Dan Hegarty – winner of the Isle of Man Privateers Championship this year – will race a Kawasaki for Special Olympics Project Kawasaki by Nature Power.

The 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix will be held over 12 laps on Saturday, November 19.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Peter Hickman on the Briggs BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Honda Racing riders John McGuinness and Guy Martin
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.