RR »

Macau GP: Jessopp on pole, Irwin shines in third

Martin Jessopp snatches pole for 50th Macau Grand Prix from Michael Rutter, newcomer Glenn Irwin qualifies third on PBM Ducati.
Martin Jessopp produced a sizzling lap to topple Michael Rutter and seize pole for the 50th Macau Grand Prix.

Jessopp, desperate to break his duck after finishing as the runner-up three times in the famous race in the Far East, went out with five minutes remaining and knocked eight-time winner Rutter off the top spot, lapping in 2m 24.656s.

Bathams/SMT BMW rider Rutter, who had held sway in free practice and first qualifying, was 0.233 seconds in arrears. The Midlands rider is fired up to challenge for a ninth victory at Macau and is primed to make a real fight of it during the 12-lap race on Saturday, which will take place from 7.30am GMT.

Newcomer Glenn Irwin produced a sensational performance on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati to clinch a remarkable third place on the grid, only 0.411s behind Jessopp's benchmark. The Northern Ireland rider created a stir with a brilliant effort on the Panigale R in only his first visit to the event and the 26-year-old will now fancy his chances of challenging for a stunning podium.

Behind the top three, Gary Johnson was fourth fastest on the Penz13.com BMW, while Scottish rider and four-time Macau winner Stuart Easton moved up to fourth (Bathams/SMT BMW). Horst Saiger, who came off at Lisboa on his Kawasaki, was next as only 1.5 seconds separated the top six.

Last year's winner Peter Hickman had to settle for seventh on the third Bathams/SMT BMW, with Honda Racing's John McGuinness and Conor Cummins eighth and ninth respectively.

Tyco BMW's Ian Hutchinson was two seconds off Jessopp's pole lap as he rounded out the top ten ahead of Manx rider Dan Kneen (Mar-Train Yamaha) and Didier Grams.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his victory in the RST Superbike race at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW in the RST Superbike race.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson
Tyco BMW rider Ian Hutchinson
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Honda Racing riders John McGuinness and Guy Martin
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.