RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2016 - 5th: John McGuinness

You place John McGuinness fifth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...

5th – John McGuinness
Average poll score out of ten: 6.46
Team: Honda Racing/EMC2 Bet Victor Honda/Mugen
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 0
Podiums: 2
Ulster Grand Prix wins: N/A
Podiums: N/A
Macau Grand Prix: 7th

John McGuinness placed 5th in the 2016 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll.

Unable to add to his tally of 23 Isle of Man TT wins this year, McGuinness lacked the pace of BMW pair Michael Dunlop and Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike and Senior races, but the Morecambe man was the best of the rest as he twice finished third on the Honda Racing Fireblade. He finished fifth in the first Supersport race and sixth in the Superstock race on his EMC2/Bet Victor Honda. McGuinness led the TT Zero race on the Japanese Mugen machine but a technical issue saw him drop back and he eventually finished fourth.

The 44-year-old was competing in his 20th TT and his podium finish in the Senior race was the 46th time McGuinness has made it onto the rostrum at the legendary road race.

At the North West 200, McGuinness took a solid sixth in the only Superbike race and set his fastest ever speed at the event after being clocked at 204mph on the run to University on the Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade SP.

The English rider completed the season at the Macau Grand Prix in the Far East, where he finished in seventh place.

Next year, McGuinness will be hoping the all-new 2017 Fireblade will give him the extra edge he needs to take the fight to Dunlop and Hutchinson in the blue riband races at the TT, where the former outright lap record holder remains a force to be reckoned with.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2016 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at Ballacrye
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Derek Sheils in action at the Walderstown road races.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Derek Sheils on the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki at the Skerries 100.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.