RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2016 - 4th: Bruce Anstey

You place Bruce Anstey fourth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...

4th – Bruce Anstey
Average poll score out of ten: 7.26
Team: Padgetts Honda/Mugen
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 1
Podiums: 0
Ulster Grand Prix wins: 1
Podiums: 2
Macau Grand Prix: N/A

Bruce Anstey ended the main road racing season with an international win at the Ulster Grand Prix, edging out Ian Hutchinson in the opening Supersport race at Dundrod on the Padgett's Honda.

The Flying Kiwi's incredible unbroken run of finishing on the rostrum at each of the major international road races at least once every year since 2002 ended at the North West 200 in May, but Anstey capped the year with a hard-earned victory at the Ulster GP.

Riding the exotic Honda RC213V-S, Anstey topped the inaugural Superpole session ahead of the Superbike races at Dundrod, but the former lap record holder twice had to settle for a brace of close runner-up finishes behind Tyco BMW's Ian Hutchinson.

His challenge at the Isle of Man TT was thwarted following a spill during practice at Keppel Gate, which left Anstey feeling the worse for wear. It came after he also crashed out during the Superbike race at the North West 200, leaving the evergreen Kiwi struggling for fitness.

Anstey's decision to ride the MotoGP-derived RC213V-S at the TT caused a real stir and he battled to a respectable eighth place in the Superbike race before improving to fifth in the Senior.

He claimed his 11th TT victory following his first success in the clean emissions TT Zero race on the Japanese Mugen machine, leading home William Dunlop in the one-lap contest to move level with the great Steve Hislop on the all-time roll of honour.

Anstey will again lead the charge for Clive Padgett's famous Batley-based team on the roads in 2017, when he will have the option of riding the RC213-V plus Honda's much-vaunted new Fireblade.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2016 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on the Honda RC213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Derek Sheils in action at the Walderstown road races.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Derek Sheils on the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki at the Skerries 100.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.