RR »

Review Roud One Duke Road Race Rankings

Riding the 1000cc KMR Kawasaki, Ryan finished first and second in the two legs to add his name to the trophy for the second successive year.
Ryan Farquhar got his 2009 pure road racing season underway in fine style on Sunday when he retained the Ian Watson Trophy at Oliver's Mount, Scarborough. Riding the 1000cc KMR Kawasaki, Ryan finished first and second in the two legs to add his name to the trophy for the second successive year.

Having taken second in his heat for the Ian Watson Trophy races, Ryan got a great start in the first 8-lap leg and slotted in to second at the completion of the first lap around the tricky woodland venue.

Enjoying a great tussle with fellow Irishman Michael Pearson, Ryan took the lead a lap later and, at half race distance, began to open up a gap. On the fifth lap though, the red flag came out to stop the race due to an incident on the circuit and with the race declared a result, Ryan was awarded the win by 0.723 seconds.

In the second leg later in the day, Ryan again got a great start and led the field around on lap one. A lap later he dropped back to 3rd but when Guy Martin took the lead, he thought it best if he got back in to second to guarantee overall victory. This he duly did and for the remainder of the race he sat behind Martin safe in the knowledge that the runner up spot would enable him to take the overall win and trophy.

The Dungannon flyer also had a very enjoyable day on his ER6 Kawasaki and took first and second on his debut in the Mini Twins class, each time enjoying terrific tussles with fellow-Kawasaki rider David Bell, the duo separated by fractions at the chequered flag.

The only downside to an otherwise superb day came in the first Supersport 600cc race. Leading a four-rider dice for the lead, Ryan was looking strong at the head of the field but it all went wrong on the fourth lap when he was t-boned by Ian Lougher at Mountside Hairpin and the duo crashed out. Fortunately, both riders escaped injury but the damage to Ryan's ZX-6R Ninja Kawasaki was sufficient enough to eliminate him from the second race and he now faces a race against time to get it repaired in time for Saturday's Cookstown 100 meeting.

However, it was Scunthorpe's Daniel Frear with a 400cc Kawasaki and a 600cc Yamaha taking two wins in the 400cc races, two seconds in the Supersport and a pair of fifths in the Ian Watson Spring Cup Races who heads the Duke Road Race Rankings by a massive 20 points from Manxman Chris Palmer, with current champion Ryan Farquhar third, one point adrift of Palmer.

A further twenty points back is fellow Ulsterman Michael Pearson, who scored his maiden victory at the hillside course in the second leg of the Supersport race on Sunday
Leyland, Lancashire rider Kiaran Hankin also impressed a number of top six finishes and currently is placed fifth in front of three time Rankings winner Ian Lougher, whose day was prematurely ended after his coming together with Farquhar.

Longford, Eire, newcomer Damien Mulleady impressed the family of Ian Watson with his results on the day and was awarded a special trophy in recognition of his efforts, along with a monetary award, to help with his expenses over the weekend.

Round 2 of the Duke Road Race Rankings is on Saturday 25th April at the Cookstown 100 National Road Races.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Farquhar on his way to victory in the feature race at Oliver`s Mount (Fiona Madden)
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.