RR »

Duke Road Race Rankings Round 22

Manxman Dan Sayle repeated his success of last year lifting the Lightweight Manx Grand Prix trophy, coming home 0.20 of a second ahead of Neil Kent after 150-miles of wheel-to-wheel racing.
Ryan Farquhar overcame a nasty practice spill to take a double victory at last week's Manx Grand Prix and continue his amazing run of success in 2009. The Dungannon rider slipped off his 350cc Honda at Guthrie's Memorial in the final practice session, sustaining a broken bone in his hand, but he re-grouped to take both the Post Classic and 500cc Classic victories, smashing the lap record in the latter to become the first man to lap at over 110mph on a Classic machine.

Manxman Dan Sayle repeated his success of last year lifting the Lightweight Manx Grand Prix trophy, coming home 0.20 of a second ahead of Neil Kent after 150-miles of wheel-to-wheel racing. Fellow 'Manxies' Sean Murphy claimed victory in the Newcomers' A Race, Chris McGahan the Junior Classic, whilst Carolynn Sells became the first lady competitor to not only win a Manx Grand Prix race, but also the first female to win a solo race on the Snaefell Mountain Course or other courses used during the Isle of Man TT Races since 1907!

Adrian Kershaw took the Newcomers' B honours, Brian Mateer the Post Classic 2-stroke win. Ewan Hamilton made it a hat-trick of Lightweight Classic victories.

Stephen McIlvenna the Junior Manx Grand Prix victory and Michael Russell the Senior Manx Grand Prix.

Ryan Farquhar added a further 140 points to his points tally, whilst Guy Martin's runner-up place behind Ryan in the Post Classic race moves him up one position to sixth. Paul Coward climbs seven places to 17th, whilst Davy Morgan advances four to 34th. Carolynn's historic achievement elevates her to 142nd place in the rankings!

The penultimate round of the 2009 Duke Road Race Rankings, The Country Crest Killalane National Road Races takes place this coming weekend 12th & 13th September.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Farquhar on his way to victory in the first Post Classic Race (Andy Findlay)
Ryan Farquhar on the Tyco BMW.
Derek Sheils at the Cookstown 100
John McGuinness on the Honda Fireblade during a test at Castle Combe.
Dan Kneen on the Mar-Train Yamaha at the Tandragee 100
Dan Kneen on the Mar-Train Yamaha
Billy Redmayne.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams SMT BMW.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW.
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas leads his Cookstown B.E. Racing team-mate Derek Sheils at the Mid Antrim 150
John McGuinness, Honda Racing [Credit: RAC]
Michael Dunlop, Buildbase BMW [Credit: ianhopgoodphotography.net]
2015 Isle of Man TT Races.
Stars of the official launch of the 2016 North West 200
John McGuinness at the start of the Senior TT in 2015.
Jeremy McWilliams on the KMR Kawasaki at the North West 200 in 2015.
Gary Johnson, T3 Racing Triumph [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Action from the 2015 Ulster Grand Prix

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.