RR »

Manx Grand Prix Races

The scheduled start of 1820 saw four Newcomers completing their compulsory controlled lap
Dry and sunny with the possibility of light rain towards the end of the first timed session of the 2009 Manx Grand Prix were the weather forecast given to riders before they set off this evening.

The scheduled start of 1820 saw four Newcomers completing their compulsory controlled lap prior to the Senior, Junior and Lightweight classes getting away at 1850.

Juniors 7 & 6 Scott Wilson and Wayne Kirwan were first away. Ryan Kneen was provisionally fastest in the Junior class at 115.626mph, followed by Stephen McIlvenna at 115.259 and Simon Fulton at 115.242mph.

The Senior class was headed by Kneen and McIlvenna whose Junior times were linked qualifying for both the main Manx Grand Prix classes. Quickest '750' was Noel Patterson at 115.253mph, with Glyn Jones lapping at 114.534mph.

Paul Owen lapped at 111.562mph to top the Lightweight leader board from Roy Richardson (111.027mph) and Dan Sayle 110.164mph.

1925 and the remaining classes set off for their session.
The two Paton's headed the Senior Classic leader board, Ryan Farquhar at 110.844mph and Olie Linsdell at 107.568mph.

Completing an Italian machine top three was the MV Agusta of Alan Oversby at 106.713mph.

The Junior Classic was topped by Roy Richardson at 99.898mph, followed by Bill Swallow at 97.441mph and David Madsen Mygdal at 93.546mph.

2008 Lightweight Classic winner Ewan Hamilton showed he was in no mood to let go of the coveted trophy as he was quickest on his Suzuki at 92.259mph. He was followed by Bud Jackson at 92.039mph and Jonathan Cutts at 91.803mph.

Newcomers A was headed by Sean Murphy at 114.492mph, whilst class B saw Andrew Farrell at the top with a lap at 101.737mph

The new Post Classic 2-stroke category was topped by Brian Mateer at 105.497mph, followed by Chris Moore at 105.425mph and Philip McGurk at 105.271mph.

The 4-stroke class was headed by the 750cc Triumph of Madsen-Mygdal at 96.771mph, with Farquhar on the 997cc Suzuki at 95.949mph.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Manx Grand Prix Logo - Colour (MMCC)
Stephen McIlvenna at the Manx Grand Prix
Guy Martin celebrates his Dundrod 150 Superbike win with the Tyco Suzuki team
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Tyco Suzuki`s Guy Martin at the Ulster Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop at the Ulster Grand Prix on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR
Manx rider Dan Kneen
Peter Hickman on the Ice Valley BMW
Ryan Farquhar and Keith Amor
Ryan Farquhar and Keith Amor
Danny Webb to race for Ryan Farquhar`s KMR Kawasaki in 2014 TT
Ryan Farquhar
Ryan Farquhar and Keith Amor will come out of retirement to compete in the Lightweight race at the Isle of Man TT in 2014
Michael Rutter leads Ian Hutchinson at the Macau Grand Prix
Ian Hutchinson on the rostrum at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Rutter at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Russell
Michael Sweeney

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.