RR »

Manx Grand Prix Races

Despite the heavy rain and mist that covered parts of the Isle of Man during the day,
Despite the heavy rain and mist that covered parts of the Isle of Man during the day, the clearer weather promised by the Met Office at Ronaldsway arrived and conditions improved sufficiently to allow the fourth practice session of the 2009 Manx Grand Prix to go ahead as planned with road closing around the Snaefell Mountain Course at 1800hrs.

Pit Lane was somewhat quieter than previous evenings as the scheduled off for the Senior, Junior, Lightweight and Newcomers A approached, 1820.

At 1830, the Clerk of the Course informed competitors that there would be one untimed lap for each class due to the deteriorating conditions on the Mountain Section.

It was then announced that the mist had increased on the Mountain and there would be a short delay before those in Pit Lane were despatched.

Phil McGurk & Stephen McIlvenna finally got away at 1925, followed by the remainder of the hardy souls who had waited patently in Pit Lane. Ken Davies got the second session away at 1935.

First to receive the chequered flag was Stephen McIlvenna bringing the session to a close, but not before some riders passed down Pit Lane to test out the Speed Limit. Nigel Moore was the first rider to try out the new procedure. As competitors completed their single lap the blue skies appeared and a wonderful sunset was setting over Peel City!

Despite the poor conditions 157 machines passed through Technical Inspection:

Senior Classic - 13
Junior Classic - 37
Senior - 6
Junior - 38
Lightweight & Ultra Lightweight - 34
Newcomers - 22
Post Classic - 7

No incidents were reported this evening.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Manx Grand Prix Logo - Colour (MMCC)
Stephen McIlvenna at the Manx Grand Prix
Guy Martin celebrates his Dundrod 150 Superbike win with the Tyco Suzuki team
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Tyco Suzuki`s Guy Martin at the Ulster Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop at the Ulster Grand Prix on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR
Manx rider Dan Kneen
Peter Hickman on the Ice Valley BMW
Michael Rutter leads Ian Hutchinson at the Macau Grand Prix
Ian Hutchinson on the rostrum at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Rutter at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Russell
Michael Sweeney
William Dunlop
John McGuinness
Bruce Anstey
Guy Martin won three races at the Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.