RR »

Manx Grand Prix Races

Pits stops came into play at the end of the second lap of four.
Dry and sunny conditions, with a strong wind were the conditions conveyed to the competitors prior to the start of the combined Lightweight & Ultra Lightweight Manx Grand Prix by the Clerk of the Course, prior to an announcement that there would be 30 minute delay due to debris on the course at Glen Vine.

Promptly at 1045 Neil Kent and 2008 winner Dan Sayle set off together, with the latter taking an initial advantage.

Two and a half minutes later Joe Phillips and Rab Davie got the Ultra Lightweight class underway.

At the end of the first 37.73-miles, Dan Sayle led on the road and on time by less than a second from Davy Morgan, with Nigel Moore third.

In the Ultra Lightweight category it was Joe Phillips three seconds ahead of Brian Purdy and Ivan Lintin.

Pits stops came into play at the end of the second lap of four, Dan Sayle and Neil Kent pitted together. The former in the lead on time by 1.3 seconds. Davy Morgan was third, after Nigel Moore had retired during the second lap, having taken the lead at the time.

Brian Purdy headed the second class by 10 seconds from Mike Minns, with Carolynn Sells holding onto third from Ivan Lintin.

Lap three, and Sayle was ahead by the merest of margins, 0.38 of a second from Kent with Morgan holding third.

The Ultra Lightweight was hotting up with Carolynn Sells leading Mike Minns by some 48 seconds as Brian Purdy slotted into third.

Dan Sayle and Neil Kent crossed the lines together, with Dan winning by 0.22 of a second. Third was Davy Morgan 63 seconds adrift, with Paul Owen fourth.

Meanwhile all eyes were on the progress of Carolynn Sells as he made her way over the Mountain and down through the Creg, Brandish, to Governor's and take the chequered flag. The first female competitor to win a Manx Grand Prix, twenty years since females were allowed in the races!

Mike Minns finished second and Wayne Kirwan third.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Carolyn Sells becomes first lady competitor to win a race on the Sanefell Mountain Course (Richard Radcliffe)
Stephen McIlvenna at the Manx Grand Prix
Guy Martin celebrates his Dundrod 150 Superbike win with the Tyco Suzuki team
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Tyco Suzuki`s Guy Martin at the Ulster Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop at the Ulster Grand Prix on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR
Manx rider Dan Kneen
Peter Hickman on the Ice Valley BMW
Michael Rutter leads Ian Hutchinson at the Macau Grand Prix
Ian Hutchinson on the rostrum at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Rutter at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Russell
Michael Sweeney
William Dunlop
John McGuinness
Bruce Anstey
Guy Martin won three races at the Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.