RR »

Manx Grand Prix Races

Ryan McCay went out at the Mountain Box,
The blue-riband event of the Manx Grand Prix, the Senior got underway at the re-scheduled time of 1330, due to the delayed start of the preceding race.

No. 2 Philip McGurk led the way with No. 1 Scott Wilson in tow. At the end of the opening lap of four, Ryan McCay headed the field with a lap of 20m 13.51s, 111.930mph, from Michael Russell, Sean Murphy, Ryan Kneen, Noel Patterson and Scott Wilson.

A brief downpour brought a number of riders in to the pits to retire and the end of the first lap, but at the front McCay's lead was being reduced as Michael Russell gained on the roads and time, so by the end of the half distance lap and pit stop time Ryan was in front of Michael by 0.30 of a second, with Newcomers A victor Sean Murphy now in third.

At three-quarter distance McCay was still leading on the road and time enjoying a seven second lead over Michael Russell with Sean Murphy still holding third. Ryan Kneen, Scott Wilson and Ivan Lintin completed the top six.

Ryan McCay went out at the Mountain Box, letting Michael Russell into the lead and taking the chequered flag from Newcomers' A winner Sean Murphy, with Ryan Kneen third four seconds down.

Fourth was Ivan Lintin, fifth Simon Fulton and sixth Philip McGurk.

There were a number of incidents during this afternoons race, non serious.

Four riders were taken to Nobles Hospital by AirMed; Paul Lawson (Mountain Box), Noel Patterson (Sulby Bridge), Frank James (approaching Sulby Bridge), Ryan McCay (Mountain Box).

Adrian Logue was off at Quarter Bridge and taken to hospital by ambulance for a check up.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
RAF man Michael Russell snatches last lap victory in Senior Manx (Richard Radcliffe)
Lee Johnston in action at the Ulster Grand Prix
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas in action in the Senior Manx Grand Prix
Billy Redmayne, Malachi Mitchell-Thomas, Rob Hodson on the podium after the Junior Manx Grand Prix
Dennis Hoffer at the Manx Grand Prix
Newcomers prepare to leave the line at the Manx Grand Prix
Lee Johnston, Peter Hickman and Michael Dunlop on the Superstock podium at the Ulster Grand Prix
Lee Johnston at the Ulster Grand Prix
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix
Glenn Irwin will ride the Cookstown/BE Racing Supertwin Kawasaki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Ulster Grand Prix
Glenn Irwin and Christian Elkin with Ulster GP Clerk of the Course, Noel Johnston, and Supertwins race sponsors Maxwell Freight
Gearlink Kawasaki rider Glenn Irwin will be sponsored by the Ulster Grand Prix in 2015
Ian Hutchinson at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Rutter on the Milwaukee Yamaha at the Macau Grand Prix
Stuart Easton, Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp on the rostrum at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Rutter on the Milwaukee Yamaha at the Macau Grand Prix
Stuart Easton and Lee Johnston at the Macau Grand Prix

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.