Jack Barlow's fantastic mid-season run of form continued with victory in the third round of the 2010 Rotax Euro Challenge Junior Rotax championship at Speedworld in Austria.

The Englishman beat Dutchman Joel Affolter by two tenths of a second in the 17-lap final at the Austrian venue to clinch his maiden win in the series.

Since moving to Strawberry Racing barely a month ago Barlow has racked up his first podium finish in the British Super One series, his first two wins in the Formula One Management backed Formula Kart Stars championship and now, his first win in the well supported Rotax Euro Challenge.

Related Articles

Qualifying third fastest in the field of 47 Barlow won his opening ten lap heat by barely half a second from Intrepid's Japanese star Ukyo Sasahara but could only watch helplessly as Affolter won his second heat while Barlow trailed home in an unrepresentative 17th.

Barlow struck back in his third and final heat with another win, this time over another rapid Dutchman in the form of Dave Blom to leave himself eighth on the grid for the pre-final but still some way behind front row starters Affolter and Sasahara.

Although Sasahara was able to break clear in the 14-lap pre-final to take the win by more than three seconds Barlow charged up the order to finish second, narrowly beating Affolter and Welshman James Singleton and ensure P2 on the starting grid of the final.

A tremendous battle ensued between the leading three contenders in the final itself with Affolter and Barlow trading top spot after early leader Sasahara dropped back. On lap ten Barlow moved ahead of his teammate for the last time and while Affolter clung doggedly to his rear bumper for the remaining seven laps Barlow kept his nose in front by a mere two tenths of a second.

Just under two seconds behind Barlow, qualifying pacesetter Jack Aitken made it two Brits on the podium with third place in his Protrain run machine with Blom fourth and another Briton in the form of Dan Holland Racing's George Williams rounding out the top five.

Sasahara finished a disappointed sixth with Denmark's Alexander Weiss, Sweden's Victor Bouveng, England's Nathan Harrison and Portugal's Pedro Faria completing the top ten.