Belgian driver Christophe Adams rebounded from a disappointing start to the weekend to win the third round of the 2010 Rotax Euro Challenge Masters class at Speedworld in Austria.

Despite a meagre eight kart entry Adams had to overcome a host of obstacles en-route to victory not least the stunning form shown in qualifying and the heats by Englishman Tom Holland.

While Adams sat and watched qualifying from the sidelines Holland easily outpaced Ukrainian Anton Chupinin and his fellow Briton Florent Lambert, who were the only two drivers to get within half a second of the Dan Holland Racing man.

Related Articles

The story was much the same in the three heats as Holland swept to a clean sweep even though Lambert ran him close in the first two. Adams meanwhile had to make do with a pair of third place finishes and a fifth behind Chupinin and Finland's Mikko Laine, which was good enough for a place on the inside of the second row of the grid for the pre-final.

If Holland could do no wrong in the heats things couldn't have been worse for him in the two finals as Lambert finally got the upper hand on his countryman in the pre-final, albeit by just two tenths of a second with Adams several seconds back in third.

Lambert held off Holland's initial threat at the start of the 21-lap final but soon Adams was hot on his heels and as Holland found himself off track on more than one occasion as the race progressed Adams and Lambert began to pull away.

Adams grabbed the lead for the first time on lap four but Lambert was relentless in his pursuit and after spending more than a dozen laps trying to break Adams' defences Lambert thought he spied a gap with less than two laps remaining.

But Adams wasn't fazed by Lambert's late charge and regained the lead with a lap to go to take the win by four tenths of a second.

Nearly seven seconds behind the victorious Adams Laine completed the podium positions just ahead of Katsuhisa Ikuta and Chupinin with Holland sixth at the end of a weekend that began with him looking the most likely winner.