The star of 2009, Ryan Farquhar, was one of the big winners at the Adelaide Racer Awards.

The Dungannon man topped the road race rankings with a massive haul of points during a staggering 2009 season.

He secured 61 race victories, took six National Championships and shattered the long-standing national race win record of legend Joey Dunlop.

Related Articles

The Duke Road Race Rankings is the only award based on performances at road race events throughout the year, with riders accumulating points in 25 international and national events, including the Isle of Man TT, North West 200 and Ulster Grand Prix.

Farquhar's amazing year - which included 18 victories at a single meeting - saw him finish well ahead of the rest of the field.

Peter Duke, managing director of Duke, was on-hand to present the trophy to the 33-year-old in front of a star-studded, 500-strong audience at the annual ceremony.

The ceremony, held in Belfast, also saw Farquhar named National Road Racer of the Year and his KMR Kawasaki team heralded as Team of the Year.

Farquhar beat competition from Keith Amor, John Burrows, Michael Pearson, Michael and William Dunlop to take the National title, while his team was selected ahead of CD Racing, Relentless Suzuki, Street Sweep Racing, McAdoo and Wilson Craig Racing.

Among the stars at the black tie occasion were many past and present greats from the world of motorcycle racing, such as Grand Prix legend Loris Capirossi, 15-time TT winner John McGuinness, World Supersport Champion Cal Crutchlow and runner-up Eugene Laverty, British Supersport Champion and 2009 Senior TT winner Steve Plater, World Superbike race winner Jonathan Rea and many more.

Farquhar was beaten to the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year title by Laverty and Rea, who finished first and second respectively.

"2009 really was a fantastic year for me," he said, "and to have my achievements recognised in front of so many people is a real honour.

"I'm particularly proud to have picked up the Team of the Year trophy as we were really up against it all year long, but we proved what can be achieved with commitment and dedication.

"Last year was a complete team effort for the entire season and whilst I was the rider out there on the bike, it was only made possible by my loyal sponsors supporting me all the way and by the hard work of all the team members.

"The three trophies I've won tonight are as much for them as they are for me and we're all really looking forward to 2010 where we hope to do even better!"