Bruce Anstey has taken his first Isle of Man TT win since 2008 after triumphing in a competitive, but otherwise overshadowed, Isle of Man TT Supersport Race 1.

The Kiwi prevailed in a closely fought exchange with several riders, with as many as four men - Anstey, Cameron Donald, Michael Dunlop and Gary Johnson - occupying the top spot at some stage.

The restarted race itself had been shortened to three laps following a red flag less two laps into the first start, prompted by a serious high-speed accident for Derek Brien. The Irishman was later confirmed to have died from injuries sustained in the accident [see separate story].

Related Articles

From the start, it was Donald that led initially, though he would be overhauled by Dunlop on the Street Sweep Yamaha, while Anstey, Johnson and Superbike TT race winner John McGuinness followed behind.

While the majority of the field dived into the pit lane for stops at the end of the first lap, Dunlop and Johnson carried on in an attempt to put air between themselves and their rivals. However, Dunlop's bid was ended by mechanical problems on that lap, leaving Johnson as the man to watch as he pitted.

He eventually came in, but by the time he had exited and gotten back up to speed, he was down to fifth position, handing the lead back to Donald, who had Anstey for company less than five seconds behind him.

However, Donald's bid for victory would end shortly afterwards as he hit problems on the Wilson Craig Honda, promoting Anstey into a comfortable lead that he wouldn't lose to the end of the race. Victory marks Anstey's seventh career TT win and his first since 2008.

Three days after being hospitalised with a shoulder injury, Keith Amor bounced back for an impressive second place finish, just ahead of Guy Martin. The Relentless by TAS Suzuki rider had actually crashed during the first running of the race, but was allowed to resume his place on the start line by virtue of there being a full restart.

Johnson ended up in fourth position, ahead of McGuinness, Dan Kneen, Ian Lougher, Ben Wylie, Ian Mackman and Daniel Stewart.