James Hillier will have the honour of carrying the number one plate at this year's Isle of Man TT races.

The Quattro Plant Kawasaki rider will set off down the Glencrutchery Road with a clear road ahead of him after 19-times winner John McGuinness vacated the position to take the iconic number three made famous by Ulsterman Joey Dunlop, who remains the most successful TT rider ever with 26 wins.

Australia's Cameron Donald starts at number two, with Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki setting off behind McGuinness at number four.

Related Articles

Bruce Anstey retains his familiar number five and the Kiwi will be followed by Honda TT Legends rider Michael Dunlop, who takes number six.

Dunlop, who claimed the third TT win of his career last year in the second Supersport event, told the Belfast News Letter: "To me it doesn't really make that much difference where you start.

"All I know is that if someone catches you, then you're beat.

"I'll just get my head down and go for it.

"It's a big year for me at Honda and we're not going there to finish second," he added.

"John's the man to beat and I'm going there to try and beat him."

Next is Gary Johnson (7), with Michael Rutter at eight, Dan Stewart on the SMT Honda at nine and Manx rider Conor Cummins on the Milwaukee Yamaha at ten.

William Dunlop - who claimed his first TT podium with third in the opening Supersport race last year - sets off behind team-mate Cummins at 11.

Simon Andrews, who suffered a serious crash on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade in the Superbike TT in 2012, has been awarded the number 17 plate.

The top 20 numbers were decided based on a seeded selection process, with the remaining start numbers set to be determined by qualifying times during practice week.

Meanwhile, Sidecar TT star Dave Molyneux and passenger Patrick Farrance will lead the field away after being confirmed as carrying the number one plate.

Like McGuinness, Molyneux has also had a part of the TT circuit named after him, with the fast right-hander at the end of the Cronk-y-Voddy straight now known as Molyneux's.