Michael Dunlop, Guy Martin and William Dunlop are among the big names confirmed for the opening Irish national road race of the season, the Cookstown 100, at the end of April.

Martin will ride the Tyco Suzuki machines at the Co Tyrone event, with Michael Dunlop entered on the Hunts Motorcycles/McAdoo Honda Fireblade.

The 24-year-old will also compete in the Supersport class on his CBR6000RR Honda and intends to contest the Supertwins class on a Kawasaki ER6 as tries out the machine ahead of the Lightweight race at the Isle of Man TT in June.

Related Articles

Dunlop will also ride his 250cc TSR Honda at Cookstown as he clocks up the miles in readiness from the first international road race of 2013, the North West 200, in May.

"I'm looking forward to a run out on the other bikes because I've had no time on my own Fireblade or my '600' because it's all been about testing the Legends bike," Dunlop told the Belfast News Letter.

"I've put a fair bit of work into building my 250 Honda and getting it all freshened up, so I thought I'd take her out and see if I can break the lap record for the class at Cookstown.

"Fair play to Winston [McAdoo] - he has put the effort into getting me a decent Supertwin so we'll have another go at it this year.

"I'll take the bike out at Cookstown to see how it goes and then we might look at riding it at the North West 200 before the TT," added Dunlop.

"I hope to have all my new kit sorted for Cookstown and my own bikes will be painted up in our new MD Racing livery."

Milwaukee Yamaha's William Dunlop will contest the Supersport class plus the 125cc race.

RC Express/MSS Kawasaki's Dean Harrison is set to make his debut at Cookstown on April 27 to add depth to the field along with Dublin rider Derek Sheils, who will ride a Kawasaki ZX-10R.

Jamie Hamilton plus Brian McCormack lead the charge for Ryan Farquhar's Vauxhall KMR Kawasaki team with Michael Pearson riding the Team Hotties machines.

Practice is scheduled to take place on Friday, April 26 with race day on Saturday, April 27.

Last year, Martin and Farquhar shared the wins in the Superbike classes.