Michael Rutter and Gary Johnson will ride for former British Supersport champions Smiths Triumph at the Isle of Man TT this year.

The duo will line up on the 675cc Triumph Daytona's in the two four-lap Monster Energy Supersport races, offering the British manufacturer a terrific opportunity to emulate the success achieved by the Valmoto Triumph team in 2003, when Bruce Anstey was victorious in the Junior 600cc race.

Johnson has already tasted success in the Supersport category at the TT, having won the second race in 2011, and looked set to do the same in 2012 before running out of fuel on the final lap of the first Supersport event.

Rutter, meanwhile, has also been victorious in the 600cc category, winning the 1998 race after getting the better of team-mate Ian Simpson by just 4.7s, although 2014 will be the first time he's contested the class since 2009.

Rebecca Smith, Team Manager, Smiths Triumph said: "As a team we've often discussed the Isle of Man TT races but only wanted to do it with everything in place. We are really looking forward to taking the iconic Triumph brand back to the Isle of Man and with Michael and Gary riding for us we are confident that we will be competitive."

Isle of Man TT Motorsport and Development manager, Paul Phillips, said the news was further proof of the event's growing stature.

"The welcome appearance of another high profile, successful team from the British Championship gives the TT its strongest line up for many years," said Phillips.

"This year also represents one of the strongest in living memory in terms of manufacturer representation with another credible marque added to the list of potential race winners."

"Smiths have made a major commitment to the TT and by backing these experienced riders have a great chance of at least a podium place or even a race win."

The team, run by father and daughter Alan and Rebecca Smith, first competed in the British championship in 2010 and were crowned champions two years later when Glen Richards sealed the title in the final round at Brands Hatch.

Billy McConnell and Graeme Gowland will spearhead the team's British title bid in 2014.