British Superbike rider Peter Hickman is aiming to hone his blossoming reputation as an exciting road racing prospect at this month's Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix.

Hickman made his roads bow at the North West 200 in May and clocked a stunning 129mph lap on his debut at the Isle of Man TT, replacing Aussie Josh Brookes as the fastest ever newcomer in the event's history.

The 27-year-old from Louth is back competing in the MCE British Superbike Championship with the RAF Reserves Honda team, but will reunite with Paul Smith's Ice Valley BMW outfit for the world's fastest road race at Dundrod plus the Macau Grand Prix in November, where he will make his maiden appearances at both events.

Related Articles

"After the TT, I thought the only other road race I'd do this year would be Macau but the Ulster Grand Prix organisers pushed for me to make my debut and they've put together a deal for 'Shoey' and the team and I'm really looking forward to it," Hickman said.

"I've been over to have a look at the circuit, and have another two-day trip planned for next week, and with it being fast and flowing, it should suit my style. I've really enjoyed the roads this year and Shoey and the Ice Valley boys are a great bunch, so it'll be nice to get back out there and I can't wait to get cracking.

"Obviously, I'm back in short circuit action now as well with the RAF Reserves team so it will be interesting to see how I adapt but I'll approach it in the same way as the North West 200 and TT and look to enjoy myself."

Hickman finished 11th in the Senior race at the TT on the Ice Valley BMW Superstock machine, setting a new record lap by a rookie at 129.104mph.

His best result at the meeting was a sensational eighth place in the Superstock race.

The Ulster Grand Prix takes place at Dundrod from August 13-16, where Hickman will sport a new Ulster GP-themed livery on Shoesmith's S1000RR Superstock machine.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey holds the outright lap record at the 7.4-mile Dundrod circuit at 133.977mph set on the Relentless TAS Suzuki in 2010.