Ulsterman Michael Dunlop once again dictated the pace for the second consecutive night during practice for the Motorsport Merchandise Formula 1 race at the Classic TT.

The 25-year-old notched the fastest lap of the week so far this week at 118.772mph on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69.

Team York Suzuki's Russ Mountford was second quickest in the class with a speed of 116.534mph.

Related Articles

All eyes were once again on Kiwi Bruce Anstey, who is riding the Padgetts Motorcycles ex-Grand Prix YZR500 Yamaha. The 45-year-old managed to complete a lap on the machine at 114.107mph after stopping on the opening night at Ramsey.

Anstey was on a quicker second lap but once more the New Zealand rider failed to make it back to the finish, stopping at Creg-ny-Baa.

However, he did post the fastest speed through the timing beam at Sulby at 164.5mph.

Gary Johnson, back from injury after a crash in the Superstock race at the Isle of Man TT, lapped at 113.668mph on the Team Winfield Harris Yamaha.

In perfect conditions on the Isle of Man, Ballyclare's Jamie Hamilton - a late replacement for the injured Dean Harrison on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta - was the first rider to leave the line ahead of Anstey on the 500cc McIntosh Norton and the illustrious pairing of John McGuinness on the Team Winfield Paton and Michael Dunlop (Molnar Manx Norton).

Morecambe man McGuinness set the pace ahead of Saturday's 500cc race with a best lap of 109.454mph on his second lap, with Welshman Ian Lougher second fastest on the Flitwick Motorcycles Paton at 109.282mph.

Ryan Farquhar was third fastest (108.767mph) followed by Hamilton (107.327mph) and Molnar Manx pair Dunlop (106.431mph) and Dan Cooper (105.896mph).

Other notable performers included Michael Rutter, who completed his first Classic TT lap on the Seeley Matchless G50 with a speed of 102.114mph plus last year's 500cc race winner Olie Linsdell, who lapped at 101.100mph on a '72 Enfield Seeley.

Alan Oversby led the times again in the 350cc class on his Honda at 102.707mph to top the times from Cheshire's Connor Behan (99.842mph) and Ballymoney's William Dunlop (99.756mph) on the Davies Motorsport Honda.

In the F2 Class, James Cowton - who finished third in this year's Lightweight TT - posted the fastest lap on his Berwick Yamaha TZ250 (108.326mph) with Chris Moore and Lougher completing the top three.

Alex Sinclair was taken by Airmed to Nobles with an arm injury following an accident at Ballaugh, causing an oil spill that necessitated waved and stationary yellow flags.