A stellar line-up has been secured for the Bennetts Senior race at the Classic TT, which lifts the curtain on the 2016 festival on Saturday, August 27.

Isle of Man TT great John McGuinness returns on Roger Winfield's 500 Paton, who has been out of luck over the past three years after a series of setbacks. McGuinness lapped at more than 112mph in practice in 2014 and barring any problems with the exotic Italian machine will be a major contender for the top step. The Morecambe man will lead the field away at number 1.

With Ulsterman Ryan Farquhar continuing to recover from the injuries he sustained at this year's North West 200, McGuinness has a new team-mate in the race with his regular Honda Racing partner Conor Cummins (10) lining up on the second Winfield Paton.

Dean Harrison took the victory 12 months ago on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta and the Bradford rider, again starting at number 12, will be putting everything into retaining his title. Laps in excess of 110mph showed what the combination is capable of and with a great season under his belt, Harrison will want to make sure his Italian machine is first past the chequered flag.

It's intended that he will be joined in the squad by Lee Johnston again, although the Irish rider sustained a broken collarbone at the Ulster Grand Prix which has put his appearance in jeopardy.

Ian Lougher will also support the MV challenge. The Welshman, who won the race in 2014 on the Giovanni Cabassi/Flitwick Motorcycles Paton, sets off at number five on the John Chapman Racing machine.

Regular competitors Team Molnar are missing from the entry list which means that Michael Dunlop (3) is still searching for a ride, but the top 20 is still packed with potential race winners including the Davies Motorsport duo of William Dunlop (6) and long-time Classic race exponent Alan Oversby (8), who continue on Honda machinery for the fourth successive year.

Michael Rutter (4) set the fastest ever Mountain Course lap on a British single cylinder machine in 2014 at 109.102mph before retiring when leading but the Ripley Land Racing Matchless should be in the mix as will Cameron Donald. The Australian had a TT to forget so will be keen to make amends at the Classic TT, this time riding the Motogallur Vincent.

Olie Linsdell, the inaugural winner in 2013 and current lap record holder, returns at number 2 on the Flitwick Motorcycles 500cc Royal Enfield with Jamie Coward (9) completing the top ten on the Ted Woof Norton.

Double Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin goes at number 11 on the Brian Richards Racing 4-valve Matchless with James Hillier (CSC Racing Honda), Danny Webb (Dunnell Racing Norton), Nick Jefferies (Goathland Garage Norton), James Cowton (Dave Kenah Racing Norton) and Peter Boast (D&M Honda) also among the top 20 runners.