Four cars remain on the lead lap with four hours of the 2015 Rolex 24 at Daytona remaining, with the Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette forging ahead at this stage.

As has been the case for much of the race, the #10 Wayne Taylor car, the #10 Action Express Corvette and both the #01 and #02 Chip Ganassi Fords have engaged in a fierce battle out front, the frequent caution periods keeping them bunched together and negating various niggles.

Indeed, the Action Express car of Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais has worked hard to get back into contention after earlier fuel pressure problems dropped it three laps behind. Despite this, it has been allowed to get back on the lead lap and even moved out front at the five hour mark.

Related Articles

With four hours of the race remaining, the Wayne Taylor car of Ricky Taylor, Jordan Taylor and Max Angelelli leads again, 13secs ahead of the Action Express Corvette, while the Chip Ganassi Fords follow 25 and 35secs adrift respectively, the #02 car (Kyle Larson, Scott Dixon, Jamie McMurrry, Tony Kanaan) ahead of the #01 machine (Scott Pruett, Joey Hand, Charlie Kimball, Sage Karam)

With just six Prototype cars still circulating in relative contention, the Corvette of Richard Westbrook, Michael Valiante and Mike Rockenfeller runs a lonely fifth three laps down, while the MSR Ligier of Oswaldo Negri, John Pew, AJ Allmendinger and Matt McMurry is five laps down in sixth place as the last remaining P2 car still circulating.

The GTLM class still looks set to come down to a three-way battle amongst both Corvettes and the #25 BMW, with all three circulating on the lead lap and the next closest car - the #912 Porsche - 21 laps adrift in fourth.

The CORE Oreca continues to lead the PC class, two laps clear of the PR1 entry and BAR1 Motorsports car, but they are now comfortably behind even the GTLM cars, while the GTD class is coming down to a three-way fight between the Alex Job Porsche, the TI Automotive Viper and the Scuderia Corsa Ferrari.

As it stands, 17 of the original 53 starts are not running, including seven Prototype entries.