The Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier team has made history at the Rolex 24-hour race in Daytona by becoming the first winners with an LMP2 machine.

The Honda-powered ESM Ligier JSP2, driven by Pipo Derani, Johannes van Overbeek, Scott Sharp and Ed Brown claimed the overall win by 26 seconds from the Wayne Taylor Racing Chevrolet Corvette DP driven by brothers Jordan and Ricky Taylor, Max Angelelli and Rubens Barrichello.

The ESM machine retook the lead when van Overbeek jumped in the car with just over two hours to go which set up the leaders swapping position in a tense finale. The Wayne Taylor squad then suffered a mechanical issue which forced Jordan Taylor out of the car while battling for position as exhaust fumes began to fill the cockpit.

Related Articles

Angelelli took over in the sprint to the finish but was unable to close the gap after the stop and was forced to pull over on the cool down lap to be taken to hospital as a precaution.

Further back the Spirit of Daytona Coyote-Chevrolet Corvette DP completed the rostrums places with Ryan Dalziel, Marc Goossens and Ryan Hunter-Reary, a minute behind the WTR car.

Only three cars ended the race on the lead lap with the Action Express Coyote-Chevrolet finishing fourth, five laps down, while Alex Wurz finished fifth in what is believed to be his final ever race.

In the GT Le Mans, the pair of factory Chevrolet Corvettes finished 0.034s apart as Antonio Garcia hunted down Oliver Gavin in the closing stages. Garcia briefly led on the outside of turn one with two laps to go but ran wide and conceded the lead to Gavin who took victory alongside Tommy Milner and Marcel Fassler. The Factory Porsche 911 RSR of Earl Bamber, Frederic Makowiecki and Michael Christensen finished third.

The GT Daytona class saw Rene Rast secure the win for Magnus Racing Audi R8 LMS of Andy Lally, Marco Seefried and John Potter which ran low on fuel at the end but fought off Nicky Catsburg in the Black Swan Racing Porsche.

The JDC-Miller squad claimed the honours in the Prototype Challenge with ORECA-Chevrolet FLM09 driven by Stephen Simpson, Chris Miller, Kenton Koch and Misha Goikhberg.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment

LMP2 seems that should be the future the Daytona prototype cars are cool but getting old .LMP2 cars pull off wins on occasion I think I remember the 2 Penske Porsche RSR LMP2 yellow DHL cars beating the Audi LMP1 cars at Laguna Seca one year I was there