Porsche has confirmed it has signed ex-Audi driver Andre Lotterer as part of its all-new LMP1 World Endurance Championship driver line-up alongside Le Mans 24 Hours winners Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber.

Following Audi's exit from the series, Lotterer is the first of the outgoing manufacturer's six drivers to confirm alternative plans for the 2017 season, while Tandy and Bamber get a belated full-time LMP1 opportunity 18 months after their stunning Le Mans 24 Hours win alongside F1 driver Nico Hulkenberg.

Lotterer and Tandy will be paired alongside Neel Jani, who is the only remaining member of Porsche's 2016 WEC title-winning driver line-up following Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas' departure.

Related Articles

Bamber, meanwhile, will replace the retiring Mark Webber and race alongside fellow New Zealander Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard.

Lotterer's switch brings his seven year tenure with Audi to a conclusion and ends a hugely successful partnership with co-drivers Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer. Between them, the trio notched up three Le Mans 24 Hours wins and the 2012 WEC world title.