Stars »

Donington kart race to honour Martin Hines

Mr Karting honoured at Donington
The Donington Historic Festival in May will host the Martin Hines Trophy Meeting
The British Historic Kart Club and the Donington organisers gained permission from the Hines family to use the name of the late karting champion for its race.

The club said in its statement: “Martin's family have become enthusiastic as this event is not just about racing but is designed to capture the atmosphere of a bygone era.”

As well as the name, the event will showcase Hines' memorabilia on static displays and hold track demonstrations of his karts.

The Trophy will consist of air-cooled karts built before December 1982.

Illustrious names and karts have already been confirmed for the event. The only American to win the world karting championship Lake Speed, 1967 champion Edgardo Rossi, Reg Gange Jnr and club patron Barrie “Whizzo” Williams. Ayrton Senna's DAP and the Progress raced by Graham Hill are among the karts to be raced. Others have joined them in the form of Dodo Regazzoni, the brother of the late Clay Regazzoni, and Hines' former Zip Hermetite team-mate Carolynn Hoy who is the coordinator for Formula Kart Stars. It will be a competitive field with Claire Atkinson who is the reigning British historic kart champion and Dave Kirkham, current European champion confirmed for the 250cc class.

The organisers are also hoping that former Zip driver and champion Terry Fullerton will attend the event as a special guest.

Further news and entry forms for the event can be found on the club's website:

by Simon Stiel

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Martin Hines Celebration at the 2011 Donington Historic Festival [Pic credit: Nick Purdie]
Martin Hines. Pic courtesy of 1979/80 Zip Sales brochure
Martin Hines. Pic courtesy of 1979/80 Zip Sales brochure
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Formula Kart Stars flags [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Macaulay Austin [Pic credit: Steve Everitt]
Oliver Norris
Lando Norris
Lando Norris
Izone Karting simulator [Pic credit: IZone]
Jessica Hawkins
Jake Dennis and Terry Fullerton
RetroRacer 2011. Larkhall. Class IV start [Pic credit: Nick Purdie]
KF3 Champion Callum Ilott with Sebastian Vettel [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Mini Max Champion Josh White and Junior Rotax Champion James Singleton with Jenson Button [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.