Formula Kart Stars has announced a scholarship for its Senior Rotax class with MINI Challenge team Lohen.

Twelve drivers will be selected for an end of season shootout where they will undergo fitness tests and drive Minis. A judging panel consisting of BTCC Dynojet driver Frank Wrathall and members of the Lohen team will assess the drivers and decide on the winner. Another topline driver who has yet to be confirmed will join Wrathall.

"The winning driver will need to show that they have the potential to step up from karts to cars," said Wrathall. "Moving from a kart to a car is a big deal and there is a lot to learn. You can't solely judge things on raw speed but how a driver can adapt quickly and build a successful foundation as a racing driver. The only reason I am where I am today is because of the Will Hoy scholarship, it set me on the path that I'm on now."

The winning driver will have the choice of competing in the MINI Challenge season with Lohen in 2013 or compete for the team in one of Britain's most prominent endurance races, the Britcar 24 Hours at Silverstone.

Lohen Director Andrew Magiy said: ""We are delighted to be working with Formula Kart Stars on the "MINI Adventure" scholarship for Senior Rotax drivers. It is a great opportunity to start developing their career in Saloon car racing. MINI Challenge is a perfect place to develop racing skills for shorter races, with many drives moving into the TOCA paddock. Britcar is ideal for drivers wishing to pursue a career in endurance racing and ultimately wishing to end up in GT or Le Mans series. Lohen can provide a perfect stepping platform for Karting to car racing and we are looking forward to attending some of the FKS 2012 rounds and meeting the candidates in person."

The announcement with Lohen came shortly after Formula Kart Stars announced a scholarship to pay the entry fees for the season with the Hillspeed team in either the Formula Renault BARC or in Ginetta Junior.

by Simon Stiel