Toll Holden Racing Team's Will Davison has won the highest accolade outside of a V8 Supercar Championship Series by being voted the Barry Sheene Medal winner as the best and fairest driver in the sport.

Davison, who finished second to repeating champion Jamie Whincup in this year's V8 series at the spectacular Sydney Telstra 500 at Sydney Olympic Park over the weekend, was overwhelmingly voted as winner of the Sheene award by the media. The accolade recognises sportsmanship and the manner in which drivers conduct themselves throughout the season, and Davison has shown all of those traits as one of the most personable drivers in the sport.

It was Davison's first year at the famous Toll Holden Racing Team and he was right in the hunt for a championship until he fell away in the second last event in Perth.

Related Articles

"It was a disappointing weekend for me personally, but it's been a great year," the former open-wheel driver noted, "I was pushed into the wall on the first lap and that did quite a bit of damage and the race was a bit of a struggle from then on. However, we soldiered on and, with great strategy from the team, I got back to third, but we lacked a bit of speed and the track was breaking up, so I made a few errors and ran into the wall. It was disappointing making mistakes as I pride myself on not doing that.

"I had an interesting battle with Lowndes with only a couple points separating the [HRT and 888] teams in the championship, but then he also made a mistake and went into the wall in front of me. The race threw everything at us - it was very, very difficult.

"All in all, though, it has been a fantastic year - winning Phillip Island, Bathurst and the teams' championship. It's been awesome and I hope everyone on the team is proud of what we've all achieved. I'm looking forward to coming back next year and taking it up another notch."

A similar honour was bestowed on young Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series driver James Moffatt, son of the great Allan Moffatt, when he was awarded the Mike Kable Young Gun Award for the best rookie in V8 Supercars.

The magnificent Dunlop Townsville 400 - which hosted 168,000 people at the new event in North Queensland - was awarded Event of The Year, while former great John Bowe was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The full list of winners at the end of the 2009 V8 Supercar season were as follows:

Armor All Pole Position Award: Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone)
Armor All Best Presented Team: Jim Beam Racing
Privateers Cup Champion: Jonathon Webb (MW Motorsport)
Fujitsu Champion: Jonathon Webb (MW Motorsport)
Mike Kable Young Gun: James Moffat (Sonic Motor Racing Services)
Most Improved Award: Car #22 (Toll Holden Racing Team)
Hall of Fame Inductee: John Bowe
Best Volunteer Group: ITM Hamilton 400
Event of the Year: Dunlop Townsville 400
Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Ford
Champion Team of the Year: Toll Holden Racing Team
Bathurst Champions: Will Davison/Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team)
Barry Sheene Medal: Will Davison (Toll Holden Racing Team)
Third Place: Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team)
Second Place: Will Davison (Toll Holden Racing Team)
2009 Champion: Jamie Whincup (Team Vodafone)