Crash.Net WRC News

FIA issues updated WRC entry list, VW enters second team

7 March 2013

The FIA has published a revised entry list for the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship on the eve of Rally Mexico.

The new list includes the addition of a second Volkswagen Motorsport team, created for Andreas Mikkelsen, who is due to compete in a third VW Polo R WRC car alongside regular drivers, Sebastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala from Rally Portugal onwards.

“The third car was always planned to come, and we chose to have a one-car team in order to give Andreas his fair amount of test days and not to have to share them with our other drivers,” VW team manager, Sven Smeets explained to the official WRC site.

“Also we are a manufacturer, so in order to have the proper space in the service park the complete package for a one-car WRC team was much more interesting to us,” he added.

The full 2013 WRC list, as of March 6, is as follows, although it should be noted that registrations remain open until May 21.

2013 FIA World Rally Championship - List of entrants:*


Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team Mikko Hirvonen Citroen DS3 WRC
Citroen Total World Rally Team Sebastien Loeb / Dani Sordo Citroen DS3 WRC

Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team Evgeny Novikov Ford Fiesta RS WRC

Volkswagen Motorsport Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Volkswagen Motorsport Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC

WRC Teams:

Abu Dhabi Citroen Total World Rally Team Dani Sordo / Khalid Al-Qassimi Citroen DS3 WRC
Lotos Team WRC Michal Kosciousko MINI John Cooper Works WRC
Qatar World Rally Team Thierry Neuville / Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Jipocar Czech National Team Martin Prokop Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Motorsport II Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Polo R WRC

* Drivers in italics were not included on the entry list released by FIA.