Crash.Net WRC News

WRC Rally Argentina 2013: Ogier wins opening SSS

1 May 2013

Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier has taken the early lead on Rally Argentina after winning the short opening super special stage.

Ogier, who was third quickest in qualifying, completed the 6.04 kilometre test in 4 minute 42.1 seconds, 1.9 seconds up on Dani Sordo, who was 'best of the rest' for Citroen.

“Our goal is to get as much as possible out of Rally Argentina,” Ogier said after qualifying. “The focus is on winning as many points as possible for the WRC, of course, but I'm a racer through and through so I always want to win too. At the very least, we want to achieve a place on the podium.”

Sebastien Loeb meanwhile came in third on his first outing in the WRC since Rally Sweden, ahead of the other two VW's of Jari-Matti Latvala and Andreas Mikkelsen. Mikko Hirvonen, Mads Ostberg and Thierry Neuville filled positions 6 through to 8, with Evgeny Novikov and Michal Kosciuszko ninth and tenth respectively.

Rally Argentina now gets underway 'proper' on Thursday, with two stages on the bill, both set to be run twice, including the longest of the event, the 51.88 km Citroen Ascochinga/Agua de Oro test (to be run as SS3 and SS5).

SS2, Santa Catalina/La Pampa 1 (27.09 km) is due to start at 09.08 hours local time [13.08 hours UK time - 4 hour time difference].

Rally Argentina: Overall standings after Stage 1 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 4mins 42.1secs M
2. Dani Sordo Abu Dhabi Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC +01.9s M
3. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +02.2s M
4. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +03.8s M
5. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +03.9s T
6. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +04.2s M
7. Mads Ostberg Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +05.3s M
8. Thierry Neuville Qatar WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +06.6s T
9. Evgeny Novikov Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +07.5s M
10. Michal Kosciuszko Lotos Team WRC MINI John Cooper Works WRC +13.4s T


11. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +14.6s T
12. Gabriel Pozzo Qatar WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +19.8s T
13. Daniel Oliveira Stohl Racing Ford Fiesta RS WRC +19.9s

WRC2 standings after Stage 1 (Top 3):

1. Marcos Ligato Subaru Impreza WRX STi 5m 07.4s WRC2
2. Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari Ford Fiesta RRC +00.3s WRC2
3. Nicolas Fuchs Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +01.2s WRC2

Notable retirements:


all times unofficial