Crash.Net WRC News

Result - Wales Rally of Great Britain

1 January 1901

Subaru's Petter Solberg has won the Wales Rally GB, in the process clinching the 2003 drivers' title; Sebastien Loeb takes second - 43.6 seconds behind, while Tommi Makinen completes the podium; Colin McRae is fourth - despite a puncture in the final test; Francois Duval completes the top five...

Overall times after SS18 / Leg 3 - Top 30:

1. Petter Solberg Subaru Impreza WRC 3hours 28mins 58.1secs
2. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Xsara WRC +00mins 43.6secs
3. Tommi Makinen Subaru Impreza WRC +02mins 58.8secs
4. Colin McRae Citroen Xsara WRC +05mins 28.1secs
5. Francois Duval Ford Focus RS WRC +07mins 16.1secs
6. Freddy Loix Peugeot 206 WRC +08mins 06.5secs
7. Manfred Stohl Peugeot 206 WRC +08mins 48.4secs
8. Roman Kresta Peugeot 206 WRC +09mins 02.6secs
9. Juuso Pykalisto Peugeot 206 WRC +09mins 53.6secs
10. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Focus RS WRC +12mins 25.3secs

11. Didier Auriol Skoda Fabia WRC +15mins 45.9secs
12. Tobias Johansson Toyota Corolla +17mins 03.4secs
13. Antony Warmbold Ford Focus WRC +18mins 20.7secs
14. Daniel Carlsson Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +28mins 31.7secs
15. Mirco Baldacci Fiat Punto +30mins 06.1secs
16. Simon Jean-Joseph Renault Clio Super 1600 +32mins 18.2secs
17. Jimmy McRae Subaru Impreza +32mins 32.0secs
18. Geoff Jones Subaru Impreza +33mins 17.0secs
19. Peter Bijvelds Mitsubishi Lancer Evo +34mins 19.1secs
20. Nik Elsmore Mitsubishi Lancer Evo +34mins 24.2secs

21. Gavin Cox Mitsubishi Lancer Evo +34mins 34.1secs
22. Xavier Pons Mitsubishi Lancer Evo +35mins 11.1secs
23. Ville-Pertti Teuronen Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +35mins 53.5secs
24. Eamonn Boland Subaru Impreza +36mins 31.7secs
25. Steve Perez Ford Focus +37mins 13.7secs
26. Seisuke Ohba Mitsubishi Lancer Evo +44mins 34.9secs
27. Gwyndaf Evans MG ZR +45mins 42.6secs
28. Salvador Canellas Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +45mins 52.2secs
29. Alessandro Broccoli Opel Corsa +52mins 00.1secs
30. Massimo Ceccato Fiat Punto +55mins 27.7secs

39 cars finished the event in total out of 75 starters.

Overall JWRC after SS18 / Leg 3:

1. Daniel Carlsson Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 3hours 57mins 29.8secs
2. Mirco Baldacci Fiat Punto +01mins 34.4secs
3. Ville-Pertti Teuronen Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +07mins 21.8secs
4. Salvador Canellas Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +17mins 20.5secs
5. Alessandro Broccoli Opel Corsa +23mins 28.4secs
6. Massimo Ceccato Fiat Punto +26mins 56.0secs

Notable retirements:

DNS. Richard Burns Peugeot 206 WRC Illness.
SS3. Carlos Sainz Citroen Xsara WRC Went off the road.
SS3. Mikko Hirvonen Ford Focus RS WRC Lost left rear wheel.
SS3/4. Marcus Gronholm Peugeot 206 WRC Went off the road.
SS3/4. Markko Martin Ford Focus RS WRC Engine.
SS7/8. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 206 WRC Mechanical.
SS16. Harri Rovanpera Peugeot 206 WRC Mechanical.
SS16. Toni Gardemeister Skoda Fabia WRC Went off the road.

Italics denotes Junior World Rally Championship entries.