Denmark's Nicolaj Moller Madsen won the CIK-FIA European KF2 title at Belgium's Genk circuit for his Energy Corse team after getting the better of Finland's Teemu Suninen in the 23-lap final.

Moller Madsen had to give best to the Maranello mounted Suninen in the 15-lap pre-final around the flat, expansive Genk circuit but after sitting behind Suninen for the first five laps the Danish driver made his move and wouldn't be headed again.

Suninen, who set second fastest time in qualifying behind local expert Sebastien Bailly, finished top of the intermediate classification thanks to two wins and two third place finishes in his four heats. He then won the pre-final comfortably from Moller-Madsen with Bailly a close third and British driver Luke Varley fourth.

Related Articles

But Moller Madsen had saved his best for the most important race of the day and, once ahead of Suninen he put in the fastest lap of the race to win by more than three seconds.

Suninen eventually faded to third behind Bailly with Britain's Tom Joyner fourth and Guillaume De Ridder making it two Belgians' in the top five