Dutchman Nyck De Vries is the 2010 World Karting Champion after a last lap pass on Jordan Chamberlain denied the British driver at the Zuera circuit in Spain.

At just fifteen years of age De Vries becomes one of the youngest World Champions in the history of the sport and his triumph caps a truly sensational debut season as a Senior.

The Chiesa Corse driver tracked polesitter Chamberlain for the majority of the 18-lap final around the sweeping 1700-metre Zuera venue after deposing Denmark's Nicolaj Moller Madsen for second in the early laps.

Welshman Chamberlain, who won the pre-final aboard his Williams Motorsport entered kart managed to keep an advancing De Vries half a second in arrears for the balance of the final but De Vries entered the final lap less than three tenths off Chamberlain's rear bumper and looked poised to make a move at any moment.,

When the move finally came, at the same corner that he earlier passed Moller Madsen, Chamberlain tried to cover but after some brief contact that forced Chamberlain onto the dusty kerbing at the edge of the track, De Vries was through into an unassailable lead.

Less than 30 seconds later De Vries crossed the finish line to seal a historic victory as the McLaren backed youngster firmly sealed his position as THE standout karting talent of 2010.

Understandably Chamberlain was disconsolate at the end but handled his defeat with good grace while Moller Madsen completed the podium less than a kart length behind Chamberlain and just one second behind the triumphant De Vries.

With the top three pulling away from the rest of the 34-strong final field at the start Japan's Yu Kanamaru enjoyed a rather lonely run to fourth after seeing off the challenge of British duo Luke Varley and Chris Lock in the early stages. Varley later retired while Lock had to give best in the closing stages to Denmark's Max Klinkby-Silver, who rounded out the top five.

Behind Lock, Belgium's Yannick De Brabander took seventh place on the road but was penalised three seconds for jumping the start, which pushed him back to tenth behind France's Brandon Maisano, Belgium's Sebastien Bailly and Italy's Stefano Cucco.

Single seater racer Ben Hanley successfully qualified for the final from the 120-strong entry but his race lasted all but two corners when he was swept up in a crash that also claimed Jonas Hansen, Sam Snell and Guillame De Ridder.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment