Q&A: Paul Howarth (Subaru) - EXCLUSIVE.

Of course we will be on the single make tyre in 2008. We will all revert back to Pirelli - every team and it is a control tyre. There is only one tyre for the wet and one for the dry surface - just one compound and that is it. And we just have one snow tyre and we are not allowed to cut the tyres. It is going to be quite tricky.

That will make things interesting won't it?

Yeah it will make things more of a spectacle. On the last two rounds [in 2007 in Ireland and GB] most teams were flat-out - cutting tyres and finding the best compounds etc, etc. The days of having five compounds sat there or different tread patterns or different cuts - all the tricks you use to try and get the best performance are gone.

You just have your four tyres. You can use six tyres. You can put two spares in the car as well because there is no run-flat mousse in the tyres anymore. There is no ATS - so if you hit a rock and get a puncture you have to change the wheel. We will be carrying two spare wheels on lots of occasions or you might decide not to and not get any punctures by not making deep cuts on the roads.

Again it is going to be quite interesting because if you do get a puncture and you run out of spare wheels you have got to retire the car as there is a clear regulation that says you cannot drive the car with no tyre on the rim on the road section. Being able to limp back to service on three tyres is a thing of the past now on the grounds of safety. There is going to be some interesting decisions to make in 2008.


Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Paul Howarth (GBR) Subaru WRT Operations Director and Richard Taylor (GBR), Subaru WRT Managing Director. Acropolis Rally of Greece, 31st May - 3rd June 2007.
Paul Howarth, Subaru`s rally operations director [Pic credit: SWRT]
Paul Howarth, team manager for the 555 Subaru World Rally Team [Pic credit: Subaru]
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.