First picture: 2006 Subaru Impreza.

Subaru have released the first picture of the new 2006 Impreza WRC car, ahead of its official unveiling at the Frankfurt Motor Show next month, which opens on September 12.

The car, which is currently scheduled to make its debut at the Monte Carlo Rally in January, has already been track tested by Subaru test driver, Pasi Hagstrom. Hagstrom recently completed a seven day gravel test with the 2006 Impreza WRC in Sardinia, completing around 100 kilometres per day.

Subaru are the first team to run their 2006 car, which unlike this year's counterparts will not have electronic differentials or engine water injection systems.

Ford meanwhile are currently planning to begin testing their 2006 car in September, although unlike Subaru they are hoping to run it at the final event of the season in Australia.

Subaru team leader, Petter Solberg told reporters at the Rally Finland that they currently have no plans to do this, because of the 'differential system and the new rules'.

Asked about which areas will benefit from improvements and development, Solberg was keeping tight-lipped.

"Its a few different places and I don't want to tell you because he [points to Marcus Gronholm] is sitting here," added 'Hollywood', in the Finland FIA pre-event press conference.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
First picture of the new 2006 Subaru Impreza WRC
Subaru team boss, David Lapworth chats to his number one driver, Petter Solberg prior to the start of the Cyprus Rally
Petter Solberg
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.