FIA confirms `twinning` measures for `06.

The World Motor Sport Council [WMSC] has announced the events on which teams in the FIA World Rally Championship must use the same engine, chassis and gearbox in 2006.

The measures, agreed following a meeting in Monaco Friday, build upon those introduced in 2005, which also twinned certain events with the same engine or chassis. During 2006 five twinned events will be linked so that they use the same engine and chassis, while a further three pairs of events will be nominated in which gearboxes and differential assemblies are sealed.

The full statement from the FIA explained:

"The following rallies will be linked for engine and chassis in 2006:

- Monte Carlo and Sweden,
- Spain and France,
- Italy and Greece,
- Germany and Finland,
- and Australia and New Zealand.

"For these rallies the engine and chassis will be sealed together and it will not be possible to separate them, except under the supervision of the FIA. Each car will use the same engine and chassis for both rallies.

"As for the gearbox, the following rallies will be linked in 2006:

- Italy and Greece,
- Cyprus and Turkey,
- and Australia and New Zealand.

"On the first rally of the link, two gearbox and differential assemblies per car will be sealed. On the second rally of the link, one gearbox and differential assembly per car will be sealed.

"Furthermore there will be a limitation on other mechanical parts across linked events."

The FIA also confirmed that the date of the Rally NZ has been changed to November 17-19, due to logistical requirements, as announced back in November. The Junior championship meanwhile will include the Rally Argentina and as such the word 'world' has been reinstated in the title of the series, so that it is again the FIA Junior World Rally Championship.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Petter Solberg / Phil Mills - Subaru Impreza WRC05
Sebastien Loeb / Daniel Elena - Citroen Xsara WRC
Toni Gardemeister / Jakke Honkanen - Ford Focus RS WRC 06
VW 2014 WRC title win in numbers
Sebastien Ogier collects his WRC champion`s trophy at the FIA Prizegiving in Doha
Sebastien Ogier and VW celebrate at the FIA Prizegiving
Robert Kubica at the Monza Rally Show
Ford Olsbergs MSE celebrates winning the RX Teams` Championship
Liam Doran
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Nasser Al-Attiyah - Mini ALL4 Racing
Jari Ketomaa (FIN) Kaj Lindstrom (FIN), Ford Fiesta R5, WRC2 winners

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.